Government Relations

The AAOS Government Relations Office promotes and represents the viewpoint of the orthopaedic community before Federal and State legislative, regulatory, and executive agencies. Based in Washington, DC, but also including staff from the AAOS headquarters in Rosemont, Illinois, the Office of Government Relations identifies, analyzes, and directs all health policy activities and initiatives of the AAOS.

With the primary objectives of enhancing access to and quality of orthopaedic care for our patients, major Federal legislative programs of the AAOS, include:

  • Research Capitol Hill Days where patients and their orthopaedic surgeons meet with U.S. Senators and Representatives to advocate increased funding for musculoskeletal research
  • National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference where over 200 orthopaedic surgeons visit Capitol Hill to encourage Congress to address issues such as Medicare reimbursement and medical liability reform

At the State level, the Office of Government Relations assists State orthopaedic societies with their own legislative priorities which are of concern to the AAOS.

Have a question or need more information?

Contact us at:
Phone - 1-202-546-4430
Fax - 1-202-546-5051
dc@aaos.org

Washington Office Staff

Bonda Baxter
Finance and Operations Assistant

baxter@aaos.org

Catherine Boudreaux
Senior Manager, Government Relations

boudreaux@aaos.org

Kristin Brackemyre
Political Affairs Manager

brackemyre@aaos.org

Judi Buckalew
Senior Manager, Regulatory and Government Relations

buckalew@aaos.org

Marisol Castillo
Clinical Registry Advocacy Coordinator

castillo@aaos.org

Elizabeth Fassbender
Communications Specialist

fassbender@aaos.org

Constance Lamberson
Executive Assistant

lamberson@aaos.org

Tammy McAthey
Manager, Government Relations

mcathey@aaos.org

Eboni Morris
Manager, State Government Relations

morris@aaos.org

Graham Newson
Director

newson@aaos.org

Will Shaffer, MD
Medical Director

shaffer@aaos.org

Kyle Shah
Clinical Quality & Medical Affairs Coordinator

shah@aaos.org

Katrina Wallace
Administrative Coordinator

wallace@aaos.org

Julie Williams
Senior Manager, Government Relations

jwilliams@aaos.org

Rosemont Office Staff

Erin Lynn Ransford
Manager, Research Development

ransford@aaos.org

Inger Saphire - Bernstein
Senior Manager, Health Policy

bernstein@aaos.org

Diana Scott
Administrative Assistant

scott@aaos.org

Joanne S. Willer, CPC
Coding and Reimbursement Specialist

willer@aaos.org

American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons
317 Massachusetts Ave, NE., Ste. 100
Washington, DC 20002
Direct Line: 202-548-4154 | Main Line: 202-546-4430 | Fax: 202-546-5051