Government Relations

The AAOS Government Relations Office promotes and represents the viewpoint of the orthopaedic community before Federal and State legislative, regulatory, and executive agencies. Based in Washington, DC, but also including staff from the AAOS headquarters in Rosemont, Illinois, the Office of Government Relations identifies, analyzes, and directs all health policy activities and initiatives of the AAOS.

With the primary objectives of enhancing access to and quality of orthopaedic care for our patients, major Federal legislative programs of the AAOS, include:

  • Research Capitol Hill Days where patients and their orthopaedic surgeons meet with U.S. Senators and Representatives to advocate increased funding for musculoskeletal research
  • National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference where over 200 orthopaedic surgeons visit Capitol Hill to encourage Congress to address issues such as Medicare reimbursement and medical liability reform

At the State level, the Office of Government Relations assists State orthopaedic societies with their own legislative priorities which are of concern to the AAOS.

Have a question or need more information?

Contact us at:
Phone - 1-202-546-4430
Fax - 1-202-546-5051

Washington Office Staff

Bonda Baxter
Finance and Operations Assistant

Catherine Boudreaux
Senior Manager, Government Relations

Kristin Brackemyre
Political Affairs Manager

Judi Buckalew
Senior Manager, Regulatory and Government Relations

Marisol Castillo
Clinical Registry Advocacy Coordinator

Elizabeth Fassbender
Communications Specialist

Constance Lamberson
Executive Assistant

Tammy McAthey
Manager, Government Relations

Eboni Morris
Manager, State Government Relations

Graham Newson

Will Shaffer, MD
Medical Director

Kyle Shah
Clinical Quality & Medical Affairs Coordinator

Katrina Wallace
Administrative Coordinator

Julie Williams
Senior Manager, Government Relations

Rosemont Office Staff

Erin Lynn Ransford
Manager, Research Development

Inger Saphire - Bernstein
Senior Manager, Health Policy

Diana Scott
Administrative Assistant

Joanne S. Willer, CPC
Coding and Reimbursement Specialist

American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons
317 Massachusetts Ave, NE., Ste. 100
Washington, DC 20002
Direct Line: 202-548-4154 | Main Line: 202-546-4430 | Fax: 202-546-5051