Research Development Committee

Kappa Delta Awards/OREF Clinical Research Award

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons is soliciting manuscripts for the 2015 Kappa Delta Awards and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award. Up to two $20,000 Kappa Delta awards (Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award and Ann Doner Vaughan Award), one $20,000 Kappa Delta Young Investigator award, and one $20,000 OREF award will be bestowed, provided manuscripts of requisite quality are submitted.

Manuscripts should represent a large body of cohesive scientific work generally reflecting years of investigation. If the submission reflects a single project, it should be of high significance and impact. Manuscripts must be submitted by members (or candidate members) of the AAOS, ORS, Canadian Orthopaedic Association (COA), or Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS).

Submissions for the 2015 Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research Awards will be accepted in electronic format only. Please email a PDF of your entire submission to no later than 11:59 PM CDT on July 1, 2014. Late submissions will not be considered.

PLEASE NOTE: The 2015 Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research Award winners will receive their award at the 2015 AAOS Annual Meeting (Las Vegas, NV, on March 25, 2015) and present their paper during the 2015 ORS Annual Meeting (Las Vegas, NV, March 28-31).

Additional Information

Kappa Delta Organization Website

REPORT: Kappa Delta Clinical Research Awards: Advancing the Science of Orthopaedics (in PDF format)
This document is the synopsis of an AAOS Research Committee study of past Kappa Delta award winners. Primary investigators from recent past years’ winning manuscripts were contacted and asked how their research has led to breakthroughs in the field, how the funds were used, why funding is significant to the advancement of orthopaedics, and how patients have benefited from their work.

AAOS Articles on Kappa Delta Awards

Starting with the 2005 awards, we are making the winning manuscripts available online. Please go to the most recent Award Winners and click on the name of the project you would like to view.