Kappa Delta Award/OREF Clinical Research Award

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons is soliciting manuscripts for the 2016 Kappa Delta Awards and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award. Up to two $20,000 Kappa Delta awards (Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award and Ann Doner Vaughan Award), one $20,000 Kappa Delta Young Investigator award, and one $20,000 OREF award will be bestowed, provided manuscripts of requisite quality are submitted.

Manuscripts should represent a large body of cohesive scientific work generally reflecting years of investigation. If the submission reflects a single project, it should be of high significance and impact. Manuscripts must be submitted by members (or candidate members) of the AAOS, ORS, Canadian Orthopaedic Association (COA), or Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS).

Submissions for the 2016 Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research Awards will be accepted in electronic format only. Please email a PDF of your entire submission to kappadelta@aaos.org no later than 11:59 PM CDT on July 1, 2015. Late submissions will not be considered.

PLEASE NOTE: The 2016 Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research Award winners will receive their award at the 2016 AAOS Annual Meeting (Orlando, FL, on March 3, 2016) and present their paper during the 2016 ORS Annual Meeting (Orlando, FL March 6, 2016).

Submission Instructions and Guidelines

Kappa Delta / OREF Award Background

Past Winners

Additional Information

Kappa Delta Organization Website

REPORT: Kappa Delta Clinical Research Awards: Advancing the Science of Orthopaedics (in PDF format)
This document is the synopsis of an AAOS Research Committee study of past Kappa Delta award winners. Primary investigators from recent past years’ winning manuscripts were contacted and asked how their research has led to breakthroughs in the field, how the funds were used, why funding is significant to the advancement of orthopaedics, and how patients have benefited from their work.