Resident Assembly

The Resident Assembly at Annual Meeting

The Resident Assembly meeting will be held at the AAOS Annual Meeting on Thursday, March 16 from 1:30 - 3:30 PM in Room 2, and the Resident Assembly Open Forum will be held on Wednesday, March 15 from 6:30 AM - 7:30 AM in Room 32.

Interested in learning more?  Visit our FAQ or contact us at .  

RSVP for the Resident Assembly Meeting
All residents are invited to attend.  Let your voice be heard!


Become a Resident Assembly Delegate

Each residency program is asked to nominate one Resident to be the Resident Delegate to the Resident Assembly. Each year, the Resident Delegate is invited to attend the AAOS Resident Assembly Annual Meeting at the AAOS Annual meeting (Thursday afternoon) as the voting representative for his/her orthopaedic residency program. All residents are also invited to attend this meeting and be part of the Resident Assembly. This individual will periodically receive correspondence from the Academy concerning resident programs or activities that directly relate to their resident colleagues. They are asked to forward the information to their fellow residents and provide feedback to the Academy. Resident delegates as well as residents have the opportunity to serve in leadership positions within the Resident Assembly: Chair, Vice-Chair of Administration, and committee chairs. Committees are available for delegates and residents interested in the areas of education, health policy, practice management, research and technology.

If your program does not have a delegate listed and you wish to volunteer, please fill out the Resident Delegate application form. If you have any questions, or would like to return your completed form, please e-mail Kristen Erickson or Erin Volland at the Academy.

Programs without Delegates

Resident Assembly Delegates

last updated 1.17.17

Resident Assembly Advisory Opinions and Open Forum

For consideration at the Resident Assembly's meeting during the AAOS 2017 Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA, proposed Advisory Opinions are due to the AAOS by January 22, 2017.

Proposed Advisory Opinions submitted by Resident Assembly Delegates or members of the Executive Committee require one sponsor. Proposed Advisory Opinions submitted by Resident Assembly members require the signature of 20 residents.  The Advisory Opinion sponsor is responsible for identifying a spokesperson, someone who can "speak to" the proposed Advisory Opinion during the Resident Assembly Open Forum on Wednesday, March 15, 2017.

Open Forum 2017 FAQ

RSVP for the Resident Assembly Open Forum


Join a Resident Assembly Committee

The Resident Assembly has five subject committees: Education, Health Policy, Practice Management, Research, and Technology.  There is also a Global Health Workgroup.  All committees meet during the Annual Meeting.

Resident Assembly Committee Charges 2016-2017

Sign up for a committee.

Resident Assembly Executive Committee

The following AAOS Residents are members of the Resident Assembly Executive Committee 2016-2017

Jeremy Burnham, MD: Chair
Verena Schreiber, MD: Vice-Chair
Jared L. Harwood, MD: Past Chair

Vahid Entezari, MD: Research Committee Chair
Bishoy Gad, MD: Practice Management Committee Chair 
Andrew Jensen, MD: Education Committee Chair
Philip Louie, MD: Technology Committee Chair
Patrick Marinello, MD: Health Policy Committee Chair
Nicholas Bonazza, MD: Member-at-Large
Zachary Working, MD Member-at-Large

The Executive Committee can be reached at .

All of the members of the Resident Assembly Executive Committee are members of The Capitol Club.  To get involved with the Orthopaedic PAC, visit AAOS' Advocacy page for more information .





AAOS Resident Education & Research

View the Video Gallery, Webinars, Journals and the Residents' Newsletter on our Education page.

Planning a Research Study?  Check out our Research Roadmap.

Power point presentations you can use to present updates to fellow residents, or to learn more about the AAOS Resident Assembly: