Society News

The American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) has selected Robert A. Hall, MEd, CAE, as its new executive director. Mr. Hall has more than 25 years of association management experience, primarily with healthcare associations. His most recent position was as executive director of the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry in Madison, Wisc. Before entering association management, Mr. Hall served five terms in the Massachusetts state senate. He may be reached at the AAHKS office at (847) 384-4373 or via e-mail at

Abstracts for the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society (AOFAS) Specialty Day 2009 are due June 4, 2008. Program chair W. Hodges Davis, MD, is looking forward to a great program on Feb. 28, 2009, at The Venetian Resort Hotel Casino in Las Vegas. Submit your abstract online at

Five AOFAS members have been chosen in the 2008 Traveling Fellowship Awards Program, which begins at the 2008 AOFAS Annual Summer Meeting in Denver and continue with visits to Chicago, Toronto, Columbus, Houston, and Dallas. This program is made possible through an unrestricted educational grant to the AOFAS Outreach and Education Fund from DJO Incorporated. The 2008 AOFAS Traveling Fellows are: Markus Knupp, MD, of Liestal, Switzerland; Ian L.D. Le, MD, FRCS(C); of Calgary, Alberta, Canada; Patricia Parra Téllez, MD, of Mexico City; Nicholas Savva, FRCS (Tr & Orth), of Dorchester, Dorset, United Kingdom; and José Elías Vergara, MD, of Panama City, Panama.

This content is only available to members of the AAOS.

Please log in using the link at the top right corner of this page to access your exclusive AAOS member content.

Not a member? Become a member!