Medicare Fraud and Abuse 102

By Madeleine Lovette

Proper claims submission is essential

Last month, in “Medicare Fraud and Abuse 101,” AAOS Now reviewed the five most important federal fraud and abuse laws: the False Claims Act, the Anti-Kickback statute, the Physician Self-Referral (Stark) Act; the Exclusion Statute, and the Civil Monetary Penalties Law. This article explains how to avoid violating those laws when billing the federal government for services provided to Medicare beneficiaries.

This content is only available to members of the AAOS.

Please log in using the link at the top right corner of this page to access your exclusive AAOS member content.

Not a member? Become a member!