Congratulations to our 2014 Achievement Award Winners!

Active volunteer involvement is at the heart of AAOS activities. Our meetings, courses, educational materials, clinical practice guidelines, and advocacy efforts are just a few of the many activities that depend on participation by volunteers for their success. Volunteers are vital—not only to the AAOS, but also to orthopaedic specialty societies; national, state, and local orthopaedic societies; and the broader medical community.

The AAOS Board of Directors established the Achievement Award Program (AAP) to encourage and enhance individual growth of Academy members, and to thank them for their many contributions to education, research, and advocacy in orthopaedics. This program recognizes participation by AAOS members in Academy programs and elsewhere in orthopaedics.

This program was designed to recognize those who are freely giving back and to create an incentive for others to do the same.

Ian J. Alexander, MD
Kyle Anderson, MD
Mark E. Baratz, MD
Stephen K. Benirschke, MD
Gregory Charles Berlet, MD
Kevin P. Black, MD
Philip E. Blazar, MD
Brian Richard Hallstrom, MD
Dale R. Butler, MD
Mark S. Cohen, MD
Xavier A. Duralde, MD
Thomas J. Ellis, MD
Daniel M. Estok II, MD
Gary M. Gartsman, MD
Richard H. Gelberman, MD
John S. Gould, MD
Gregory J. Della Rocca, MD, PhD
Patrick Greis, MD
Edward J. Harvey, MD, MSc, FRCSC
John E. Herzenberg, MD
William John Hopkinson, MD
Stephen S. Hurst, MD
Patrick M.J. Hutton, MD, MBA
Jonathan N. Grauer, MD
Joseph A. Abbound, MD
Brian T. Kelly, MD
George L. Lucas, MD
David C. Markel, MD
Tammy Lynn Martin, MD
Kathleen A. McHale, MD
Theodore Miclau, MD
Tom Minas, MD
Anthony Miniaci, MD,FRCSC
Michael A. Mont, MD
Thomas J Moore, MD
Michael P. Mott, MD
Richard John Mutty, MD
Steven A. Olson, MD
Hollis Potter, MD
Richard H. Rothman, MD
Thomas A. (Toney) Russell, MD
Andrew K. Sands, MD
Bruce J. Sangeorzan, MD
Richard A. Schaefer, MD
Anthony Alberto Schepsis, MD
Franklin H. Sim, MD
David Andrew Spiegel, MD
Robert J. Strauch, MD
J. Andy Sullivan, MD
Vishwas R. Talwakar, MD
John S. Taras, MD
Richard Uhl, MD
Frank R. Voss, MD
Eric J. Wall, MD
Lawrence Xavier Webb, MD
Dennis R. Wenger, MD

For more information on the Achievement Awards Program and to view a complete list of Achievement Award winners, visit