Kudos to 2009 award winners

During the opening ceremonies of the 2009 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas, the AAOS and the Ortho­paedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) recognized outstanding research with the presentation of the Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research awards.

(Rear) Denis R Clohisy, MD, Chair of the AOAS Research Development Committee, and Thomas A. Einhorn, OREF representative, pose with winners of the Kappa Delta Awards. (From left) Michael J. Yaszemski, MD, PhD; Stavros Thomopoulos, PhD; EdwardD. Wang,MD; Hiroshi Kawaguchi, MD, PhD; Lawrence C. Hurst, MD; and Marie A. Badalamente, PhD.

The 2009 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award was presented to Stavros Thomopoulos, PhD, for his research on “Structure, biomechanics, and mechanobiology in the attachment of tendon to bone.”

Hiroshi Kawaguchi, MD, PhD; Toru Akune, MD, PhD; Takashi Yamada, MD, PhD; and Naoshi Ogata, MD, PhD, received the Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughan Award for their research, “Mouse genetics studies on molecular mechanisms underlying bone and cartilage disorders.”

Winners of the Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award are Michael J. Yaszemski, MD, PhD; and Lichun Lu, PhD, for their paper on “Osteoinductive injectable degradable polymeric scaffolds for osseous defect repair.”

The work of Lawrence C. Hurst, MD; Marie A. Badalamente, PhD; and Edward D. Wang, MD, on “Injectable clostridial collagenase: Striving toward nonoperative treatment options for fibroproliferative disorders” was honored with the 2009 OREF Clinical Research Award.

About the awards

The Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics was established by the Kappa Delta Sorority as part of their Golden Anniversary commemoration in 1947. Since then, the award has grown from one recipient paper and a $1,000 stipend to three recipient papers, each receiving an award of $20,000.

The OREF is the only independent surgeon-driven organization supporting research in the musculoskeletal area. The Board of Trustees presented the first Clinical Research Award and accompanying $20,000 stipend in 1994.