Research Opportunities

Research Opportunities: Search a clearinghouse of research funding opportunities offered by orthopaedic specialty societies (BOS Member Organizations). Opportunities are filterable and link to external websites for additional information and application instructions. 

Research Awards: The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons solicits manuscripts annually for the Kappa Delta Awards and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award. Up to two $20,000 Kappa Delta awards (Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award and Ann Doner Vaughan Award), one $20,000 Kappa Delta Young Investigator award, and one $20,000 OREF award are awarded for outstanding basic, translational, or clinical research related to the musculoskeletal system.

Clinician Scholar Career Development: The AAOS/OREF/ORS Clinician Scholar Career Development Program (CSCDP) is an annual application-based training program for clinicians in their PGY2-PGY 5 residency years, in fellowships, and Junior Faculty through year three who have the potential/desire to become orthopaedic clinician scientists.

ORS/OREF/ AAOS Grant Writing Workshop: The 2017 Grant Writing Workshop: Tools for Success - Clinical, Translational, and Basic Science Research, will be held April 28-29, 2017 in Baltimore, MD. The program is held annually and features:

  • Mock Study Section where faculty will review provisional grants provided by the registrants.
  • Specific Aims Lab which will allow attendees to collaborate with faculty and peers to revise and improve the specific aims section of the grant application. The key component to the grant proposal.
  • Real Time Feedback from Faculty and NIH Officers
  • Mentoring

Annual Research Symposia: The annual AAOS research symposia are designed to define the knowledge base in a chosen topic area based on scientific evidence, to identify gaps in the knowledge base, and to outline future research opportunities. Abstracts submissions offer an opportunity to present your related research and young investigator travel awards are available for each meeting.