Published 8/1/2007

A pat on the back to…

  • John A. Barrasso, MD, the first orthopaedic surgeon in the U.S. Senate, appointed by Wyoming’s Gov. Dave Freudenthal to temporarily replace the late Sen. Craig Thomas (see report, page 1).
  • Valdis Zatlers, MD, the first orthopaedic surgeon elected president of a country (Latvia).
  • Andrew W. Gurman, MD, elected vice-speaker of the American Medical Association (AMA) House of Delegates, and William A. Dolan, MD, elected to a four-year term on the AMA Board of Trustees, joining William A. Hazel Jr., MD, who is currently serving on the AMA Board.
  • The newly elected 2007-2008 members of the American Orthopaedic Association executive committee: Peter J. Stern, MD, president; Louis U. Bigliani, MD, first president-elect; Vincent D. Pellegrini Jr., MD, second president-elect; Scott D. Boden, MD, secretary; Serena S. Hu, MD, treasurer; Terry R. Light, MD, first past president; Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD, second past president; Edward N. Hanley Jr., MD, historian; Frederick M. Azar, MD, and Rick W. Wright, MD, delegates-at-large; Douglas R. Dirschl, MD, Frank J. Frassica, MD, Christopher D. Harner, MD, Theodore Miclau III, MD, Terrance D. Peabody, MD, Paul Tornetta III, MD, and Kristy L. Weber, MD, committee members.
  • Andrew Bronstein, MD, named by Las Vegas Life as one of the top doctors of the area.
  • Timothy S. Mologne, MD, who received the award for the best scientific presentation at a meeting of the International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine (ISAKOS) in Florence, Italy.