(From left) Drs. Beaty, Shapiro, and Routman with the representatives of the Pennsylvania Orthopaedic Society, which received the State Society of the Year Award.


Published 6/1/2007
G. Jake Jaquet

State societies fêted at NOLC

Texas, Pennsylvania recognized with “Society of the Year” awards

The Texas Orthopaedic Association (TOA) and the Pennsylvania Orthopaedic Society (POS) both received AAOS State Orthopaedic Society of the Year awards, and the executive director of the Georgia Orthopaedic Society (GOS) was recognized as the AAOS Executive Director of the Year at the National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference (NOLC). Members of the AAOS Board of Directors, the Board of Councilors (BOC), the Board of Specialty Societies (BOS), and other orthopaedic leaders were present to extend their congratulations.

State Society of the Year—Texas
The TOA was named State Society of the Year for a productive year both in the political arena and in membership services. One accomplishment was securing full accreditation to offer CME credit for their activities for four years, effective February 2007, from the Texas Medical Association (TMA) Committee on Continuing Education.

The TMA accreditation decision report reads in part, “…TOA experiences regular, effective input from its membership about educational efforts. There is strong physician input from all levels of the governance…. The [annual] board meeting devotes time to reviewing the CME process and making changes, and the Research and Education Committee meets often to determine educational needs of the membership. Two staff members provide excellent support for the program and are attentive to education needs of the membership.”

Other accomplishments in 2006 included research and development of new mechanisms for mass electronic communications to TOA members, hosting the 4th annual “Business of Orthopaedics” one-day seminar for PGY4 and PGY5 residents from the nine orthopaedic training programs across the state, staging the 2006 TOA Leadership Conference, and maintaining its leadership role in the PatientsFirst Coalition, which addresses the scope of practice and limits of licensure of nonphysician practitioners. In addition, in 2006, TOA increased its membership roster with 112 new members.

Accepting the award, TOA president David Teuscher, MD, remarked to the crowd, “I’m going to be brief.” Motioning toward TOA executive director Donna Parker, he continued, “Without this lady, nothing happens in Texas.”

State Society of the Year—Pennsylvania
The POS, which coincidentally celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2006, was named State Society of the Year for several advocacy efforts, including the following:

  • Continued Mcare abatement work to keep orthopaedic surgeons practicing in Pennsylvania
  • Achieving fee schedule disclosure with Independence Blue Cross as a result of a class action lawsuit on behalf of all Pennsylvania surgeons
  • Organizing high-risk specialty surgeons and their patients through the Pennsylvania Physicians for the Protection of Specialty Care to address issues such as liability and insurance reform
  • Increasing participation in and donations to its OrthoPAC
(From left) Drs. Beaty, Shapiro, and Routman with the representatives of the Pennsylvania Orthopaedic Society, which received the State Society of the Year Award.
Texas Orthopaedic Association members surround Executive Director Donna Parker, who accepted the State Society of the Year Award. Current TOA president David Teuscher, MD, is to her right.
AAOS President James H. Beaty, MD, presents the “Executive Director of the Year Award” to Sherri H. Douthit, while Matthew S. Shapiro, MD, chair of the BOC, and Alan S. Routman, MD, chair of the BOC State Orthopaedic Society Committee, look on.

“This [award] is another example of how our state society works everyday to promote excellence in orthopaedic medicine for Pennsylvania’s patients,” said POS president Charles D. “Chip” Hummer, III, MD. “POS continues to be a national leader among state orthopaedic societies and one of the key voices for medicine in Pennsylvania.” Hummer also recognized Joshua Port, MD, for his outstanding leadership as POS president in 2006.

Executive Director of the Year
Sherri H. Douthit, recently retired as executive director of GOS, was recognized as Executive Director of the Year. Nominated by Peter L. Meehan, MD, Douthit was the first full-time executive director employed by the organization, which hired her in 1999.

In his nomination, Meehan wrote, “In 2003, the Georgia Orthopaedic Society became the recipient of the very first Outstanding State Society Award. A photo taken on that occasion pictured Sherri holding the plaque and surrounded by members of our board. The arrangement was not mere coincidence, but rather an intentional acknowledgment that that award belonged to her.”

He concluded his nomination, “With no disrespect to those who preceded her, it is safe to say that Sherri’s dedicated service has made the Georgia Orthopaedic Society a society that is respected within our state, responsive to its members’ needs, and an effective champion for the issues facing our profession.”

In accepting the award, Douthit remarked, “I am most humbled to receive this award. You can only reach your goals if you have a strong and dedicated board.” She also noted, “I have to thank three people for their inspiration: Francis B. Kelly, MD; Peter L. Meehan, MD; and Charles N. Hubbard, MD.”

About the awards
The BOC State Orthopaedic Societies Committee established the annual awards program in 2003 to recognize the achievements of state orthopaedic societies. This year’s award recipients were selected by that committee, which reviewed and ranked all nominations. Criteria for the state society award include the following:

  • an evaluation of the success of the society in its programs, projects, and initiatives
  • the impact of the society’s achievements on its membership
  • the creativity and innovation the society exhibits in its work
  • the impact of the society’s work on other state societies
  • overall achievements

Selection of the executive director of the year is based on the committee’s review of the following factors:

  • the individual’s involvement in the success of the society’s programs, projects, and initiatives
  • the impact the person has on
  • the society (as measured via increased membership, increased revenues, enacted legislation, and so forth)
  • the creativity and innovation displayed in his or her work
  • beneficial effects of programs, projects, and initiatives of the executive director on other state societies, including a willingness to assist other states
  • the overall work of the executive director

The awards were presented by James H. Beaty, MD, AAOS president; Matthew S. Shapiro, MD, BOC chair; and Alan S. Routman, MD, BOC State Orthopaedic Society Committee chair. The two state societies each received a recognition plaque and a $1,000 check; the executive director award recipient was presented with a plaque and a $500 check.