We will be performing site maintenance on our learning platform at learn.aaos.org on Sunday, February 5th from 12 AM to 5 AM EST. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Published 3/1/2007

A pat on the back to:

  • The 10 AAOS Fellows awarded the “President’s Call to Service Award” from Health Volunteers Overseas: Lewis Zirkle, MD; David Spiegel, MD; W.W. Schaefer, MD; Kirk Lewis, MD; David Denzel, MD; Salvatore LaPilusa, MD; Richard Fisher, MD; Jay Cox, MD; Richard Kemme, MD; and Robert Stein, MD.
  • New officers for the Cervical Spine Research Society: Ronald I. Apfelbaum, MD, president; Vincent C. Traynelis, MD, past-president; Thomas A. Zdeblick, MD, president-elect; Tod Albert, MD, vice president; Sanford E. Emery, MD, treasurer; and John G. Heller, MD, secretary
  • New officers for the Federation of Spine Associations: Michael H. Haak, MD, president and Jeffrey D. Coe, MD, re-elected as secretary-treasurer
  • New officers for the Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society (RJOS): Elizabeth Ouellette, MD, president; Sharon Hame, MD, vice president; Laura Gehrig, MD, secretary; Ann Van Heest, MD, treasurer; Lisa Cannada, MD, and Toni McLaurin, MD, board members at large
  • New officers for the J. Robert Gladden Orthopaedic Society: James A. Hill, MD, president; Charles L. Nelson, MD, vice president; Audley M. Mackel, MD, treasurer; Melvyn A. Harrington, MD, secretary
  • Scott Bissell, MD, a new member of the Eastern Connecticut Health Network staff
  • Lisa Cannada, MD, winner of the RJOS/Zimmer Award
  • James Hundley, MD, recipient of the Order of the Long Leaf Award, North Carolina’s highest civilian honor
  • Michelle James, MD, appointed Chief of Orthopaedic Surgery at Shriners Hospitals for Children Northern California and Division Chief of Pediatric Orthopaedics in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of California Davis Medical Center
  • Joe Lynch, MD, winner of the Jacquelin Perry Resident Research Award presented by the RJOS
  • Mollie Manley and Kate Nellans, winners of the RJOS Medical Student Awards
  • David R. Schmidt, MD, awarded the U.S. Sports Academy’s Dr. Ernst Jokl Sports Medicine Award
  • Carla Smith, MD, winner of the RJOS/Zimmer Award
  • James N. Weinstein, DO, MSc, nominated to the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Skin Diseases Advisory Council
  • Felasfa M. Wodajo, MD, recipient of the 2007 Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award presented by the J. Robert Gladden Orthopaedic Society
  • Vonda Joy Wright, MD, winner of the RJOS/DePuy/Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Career Development Award
  • Ken Yamaguchi, MD, winner of the Sam & Marilyn Fox Distinguished Professorship in Orthopaedic Surgery