We will be performing site maintenance on AAOS.org on February 8th from 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM CST which may cause sitewide downtime. We apologize for the inconvenience.

AAOS Now

Published 10/1/2007

New SOPs guide relationships with industry: practices are changing

The Academy’s newly adopted Standards of Professionalism (SOPs) on Orthopaedist-Industry Conflicts of Interest become enforceable on January 1, 2008. Recognizing that orthopaedic surgeons and industry must work together in a strong, collaborative relationship that supports improvements in patient care, the SOPs delineate clear ethical and legal parameters for both parties.

The Orthopaedic Knowledge Online “Relationships with Industry” Web site (www.aaos.org/IndustryRelationships) is a convenient portal to a variety of Web-based resources ranging from the newly adopted Industry SOPs, the AAOS Opinions on Ethics and Professionalism to guidelines prepared by the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation and industry groups. Use the site to view presentations from the 2007 AAOS Annual Meeting symposium, “The Clinician and Industry Relationship: Conflict and Collaboration.”

Earn CME credit
Mark your calendars for a ground-breaking AAOS educational program, “Orthopaedists at Risk:

Navigating Industry Relationships” on Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2007, at 8 p.m. ET (7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, 5 p.m. PT).

This interactive town hall meeting is free—available via your Internet connection—and is moderated by AAOS President James H. Beaty, MD. It covers issues such as:

  • Disclosing to patients
  • Being approached by sales representatives
  • Consulting agreements with industry
  • Real life scenarios from your colleagues—and winning ways to handle the issues
  • Legal and industry perspectives

This is the first time the AAOS is offering this type of cutting-edge online educational programming.

You must register beforehand to obtain 1.5 CME credits. Look for registration information to be announced shortly through AAOS Headline News. If you are unable to participate, you can access and hear the discussions online afterward.

To register for the online seminar, sign up at www.aaos.org/IndSOPs