Published 9/1/2007
Richard N. Peterson, JD

2008 Nominating Committee elected

Under AAOS Bylaws, the Nomina-ting Committee is composed of an appointed chair and six elected members. Traditionally, the position of chair has been held by the third past president. Recently, the AAOS fellowship voted for the six elected committee members.

Members of the 2008 Nominating Committee are: Robert W. Bucholz, MD, Chair; James R. Andrews, MD; Daniel J. Berry, MD; S. Terry Canale, MD; Lawrence D. Dorr, MD; Russell F. Warren, MD; and Kristy L. Weber, MD. William J. Maloney, MD, was elected as the alternate member of the Nominating Committee and will be asked to participate if one of the six elected members cannot serve.

Of the 21,008 fellows (active, inactive and emeritus) eligible to vote, 6,195 (30 percent) cast ballots, which is slightly higher than in recent years. This was also the first time that fellows had the opportunity to cast ballots for up to six candidates (instead of requiring a vote for six candidates, no more and no less), and 60 percent of those voting did vote for six candidates

During the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons on March 6, 2008, the Nominating Committee will present a list of candidates for the positions of second vice-president, treasurer-elect, two at-large members of the board of directors (one age 45 or older at the time of election; one younger than age 45 at the time of the election), and a member of the National Membership Committee.

The Nominating Committee will be actively soliciting the views of the fellowship regarding individuals who might serve in these positions. Please submit your recommendations to: Robert W. Bucholz, MD, chair, 2008 Nominating Committee, c/o AAOS Office of General Counsel, 6300 N. River Rd, Rosemont, Ill. 60018-4202.

Richard N. Peterson, JD, is AAOS General Counsel. He can be reached at peterson@aaos.org.