Published 4/1/2008

A Pat on the Back….

John A. Bergfeld, MD, awarded the John H. Budd MD Distinguished Membership Award for 2008 by the Academy of Medicine of Cleveland and Northern Ohio in recognition of his longstanding work in orthopaedic medicine as well as his dedication to the healthcare community in Cleveland

John P. Evans, MD, awarded South Carolina’s highest civilian honor for service, the “Order of the Palmetto,” for his leadership in the South Carolina Orthopaedic Association, the South Carolina Medical Association, and his many endeavors that have benefited the citizens of South Carolina

David C. Ayers, MD, and coauthor Patricia Franklin, MD, winners of The Knee Society’s Chitranjan Ranawat Award for the best work on a Surgical Technique

Steven J. MacDonald, MD, and coauthors Kory Charron; Richard W. McCalden, MD; Robert B. Bourne, MD; Cecil H. Rorabeck, MD; and Douglas Naudie, MD, winners of The Knee Society’s John Insall Award for the best work on a Clinical Subject or Outcomes Report

Clifford W. Colwell Jr., MD, and coauthors Shantanu Patil, MD; Nikolai Steklov, BS; Peter Chen, PhD; and Darryl D’Lima, MD, winners of The Knee Society’s Mark Coventry Award for the best Basic Science Paper

Raymond H. Kim, MD; Bryan D. Springer, MD; and Bruno Violante, MD, winners of The Knee Society’s 2008 John Insall Traveling Fellowship

Kimberly J. Templeton, MD, honored with the American Medical Student Association’s Raising Our Voices Award

Stephen Fealy, MD, a coauthor of podium presentation 009 at the 2008 AAOS Annual Meeting, whose name was inadvertently missed in the Proceedings/Final Program