At OREF’s 2008 Recognition Luncheon: (L-R) 2006 recipient Richard J. Haynes, MD; 2008 recipient Michael F. Schafer, MD; Mrs. Patricia Tipton; 2007 recipient Stuart A. Hirsch, MD.
Courtesy of OREF


Published 6/1/2008
Sharon Johnson

Through the generations

Orthopaedic surgeons inspire protégés to excel

Founded in 1955, the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) is the embodiment of a vision first articulated in 1952, in casual conversation between Alfred R. Shands Jr., MD, and Harold A. Sofield, MD. United by their commitment to relieve the pain and suffering of children learning to live with malformed and diseased spines, Drs. Shands and Sofield also shared a conviction that research was key to bringing more precision—and more promise—to the practice of orthopaedics.

By the late 1950s, Dr. Sofield had distinguished himself at the leading edge of clinical practice, founding the Hines-Shriners residency program and pioneering the first successful surgical interventions to strengthen bones made brittle by osteogenesis imperfecta.

As Academy president (1959-1960), Dr. Sofield challenged AAOS fellows: “The greatest of all common denominators binds together practitioners of healing—that denominator is, of course, the patient … If ever there is a field of endeavor which should know no jealousies and which should strive for the common good, it is the field of medicine.”

Modeling leadership
Listening to that presidential address, Herbert J. (Tim) Louis, MD, was among those inspired by Dr. Sofield. “I was an orthopaedic resident under Harold Sofield,” Dr. Louis explained. “His AAOS presidential address, Growth of the Vineyard, was very inspiring to me, though as a resident I wasn’t in a position to give much. That came later.”

One of Dr. Louis’ many contributions to orthopaedics was his expansion of the Arizona Children’s Hospital pediatric orthopaedic training program into the Phoenix orthopaedic residency program. He also established the only endowed chairmanship at the Phoenix Children’s Hospital, which was recently filled by Lee S. Segal, MD. Dr. Louis further emulated Dr. Sofield by serving as an OREF trustee and by being particularly proactive in encouraging residents under his direction to support orthopaedic research and education. His efforts have cultivated clinical, academic, scientific, and philanthropic leadership among his colleagues.

Longtime Order of Merit donor and current OREF trustee Richard J. Haynes, MD, is a case in point. Dr. Haynes met Dr. Louis in 1974 when he joined the Arizona Children’s Hospital faculty as a voluntary member. When Dr. Louis retired in 1989, Dr. Haynes assumed his role as director of pediatric orthopaedics for the Arizona Children’s Rehabilitative Services and the Phoenix orthopaedic residency training program.

What comes around goes around
“Dr. Louis in all ways defined the role of an orthopaedic educator, researcher, and leader,” said Dr. Haynes. “The standards of orthopaedic education and resident research that I learned from Dr. Louis have been the foundation of everything I know about resident and fellow education and research. His commitment to orthopaedic research and education has been demonstrated during his entire career in so many ways, including instilling a sense of responsibility in his many mentees.”

At OREF’s 2008 Recognition Luncheon: (L-R) 2006 recipient Richard J. Haynes, MD; 2008 recipient Michael F. Schafer, MD; Mrs. Patricia Tipton; 2007 recipient Stuart A. Hirsch, MD.
Courtesy of OREF
Herbert J. (Tim) Louis, MD, spent 11 years in private practice in Phoenix before transitioning to teaching, first as clinical professor-orthopaedic surgery and later as senior lecturer, at the University of Arizona.
Courtesy of OREF

In the estimation of his peers, Dr. Haynes has delivered on that sense of responsibility—as a clinician, a mentor, and a bridge-builder. In 2006, he was named recipient of the inaugural William W. Tipton Jr., MD Leadership Award.

Do you have a valued colleague who deserves recognition for leadership excellence? OREF welcomes nominations for the 2009 Tipton Award now through July 25, 2008, at

Sharon Johnson is vice president, communications for OREF. She can be reached at

2008 Tipton award winner shares prize with students
Serving as chair of one of the nation’s most prestigious orthopaedic programs for 28 years and developing the first comprehensive review course for orthopaedic surgeons are among the achievements that earned Michael F. Schafer, MD, the 2008 William W. Tipton Jr., MD Leadership Award. Dr. Schafer, Ryerson professor and chair of the department of orthopaedic surgery at Northwestern University Medical School, was presented with the award at the AAOS 75th Annual Meeting in San Francisco. He was also elected to the AAOS Board of Directors.

“This award is the highlight of my career. It is an honor to have been nominated by my peers and selected by another group of peers,” said Dr. Schafer.

In acknowledgment of Dr. Tipton’s dedication to education and his own lifelong commitment to teaching orthopaedic surgeons, Dr. Schafer will establish the William W. Tipton Jr., MD, Orthopaedic Surgery Student Fund at Northwestern. The fund will provide five $1,000 stipends to encourage interested medical students to explore a commitment to orthopaedics through observing surgery and conducting a research project. The stipends will be offered on a competitive basis. Applicants will be evaluated by Dr. Schafer and his department vice-chairs, Andrew D. Bunta, MD, and Alan W. Yasko, MD.

For more about Dr. Schafer’s selection as the 2008 Tipton Award honoree, please visit

Nominations for the 2009 Tipton Award may be made through July 25, 2008, at