Published 6/1/2008

Pat on the back...

  • AAOS fellows named to the Black Enterprise 2008 list of America’s leading doctors: Erroll J. Bailey, MD; Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD; Richard E. Grant, MD; Leonel A. Hunt, MD; Lytton A. Kunle-Williams, MD, MBA; Valerae O. Lewis, MD; Shearwood J. McClelland, MD, MPH; Michael L. Parks, MD; E. Anthony Rankin, MD; Claudia L. Thomas, MD; Michael E. Trice, MD.
  • New board members of the Mid-America Orthopaedic Association: Lynn A. Crosby, MD, president; John S. Toohey, MD, first vice-president; David G. Lewallen, MD, second vice-president; Craig S. Roberts, MD, treasurer; and John C. Clohisy, MD, member at-large. Timothy C. Fitzgibbons, MD, is the outgoing president.
  • New officers and board member of the Orthopaedic Trauma Association (OTA): J. Tracy Watson, MD, president; David C. Templeman, MD, president-elect; Timothy J. Bray, MD, second president-elect; Brendan M. Patterson, MD, and David J. Stephen, MD, members-at-large; Daniel S. Horwitz, MD, membership chair; David C. Teague, MD, education chair, David P. Barei, MD, membership committee. Continuing OTA board members include Robert A. Probe, MD, secretary; Alan L. Jones, MD, chief financial officer; Jeffrey O. Anglen, MD, immediate past president; Michael J. Bosse, MD, second past president, and Edward J. Harvey, MD, member-at-large.
  • David Teuscher, MD, honored as ‘Citizen of the Year’ of the Neches River Festival for his leadership during the sculpting of the Beaumont school district’s $388.6 million bond issue.
  • Cato T. Laurencin, MD, PhD, named Pratt Distinguished Professor and Chairman of Orthopaedic Surgery, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Virginia, and one of only three practicing orthopaedic surgeons in America elected to the prestigious Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.
  • Michael F. O’Brien, MD, a recipient of the third annual Golden Apple Awards, presented by Health Volunteers Overseas for his extraordinary educational contributions to sites abroad.
  • Frank R. Noyes, MD, who will be inducted into the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine Hall of Fame next month.
  • Craig Quentin King, recipient of the South Carolina’s Charles Dickerson Community Service Award; King is an AAOS patient advocate and participant in AAOS Research Capitol Hill Days, who serves as a spokesperson and advocate for individuals with musculoskeletal disabilities received.
  • AAOS director of public relations, Sandra R. Gordon, elected president of the National Association of Medical Communicators