Published 4/1/2009

Graduating LFP members ready for action

Orientation begins for new class

Fifteen graduating members of the Academy’s Leadership Fellows Program (LFP) were honored during the 2009 AAOS Annual Meeting, and 10 new LFP participants were welcomed into the program.

Tony Rankin, MD, addressed the Graduation/Orientation session and congratulated the class of 2008–2009 for completing the program. Dr. Rankin presented graduation plaques to the 15 LFP members and recognized the outstanding contribution of the Academy fellows who have served as their mentors.

The 2008–2009 class project, “Members make it happen,” is a short video encouraging orthopaedic surgeons to become more involved in the advocacy process.

Graduates and mentors
Members of the graduating 2008–2009 LFP class are: Bobby Chhabra, MD; Ronald E. Delanois, MD; Robert P. Dunbar, MD; Scott F.M. Duncan, MD; Hubert Lee Gooch Jr., MD; Brian R. Hamlin, MD; Clifford B. Jones, MD; James A. Keeney, MD; Matthew J. Matava, MD; Mark C. Pinto, MD; George V. Russell, Jr, MD; Robert L. Satcher Jr., MD; Kevin G. Shea, MD; Joseph K. Weistroffer, MD; and Jennifer M. Wolf, MD.

Dwight W. Burney III, MD; Richard I. Burton, MD; Kenneth DeHaven, MD; Edward Hanley Jr., MD; Stephen Imrie, MD; Frank B. Kelly, MD; Ronald Lindsey, MD; William McMaster, MD; Theodore Parsons III, MD; Andrew N. Pollak, MD; William J. Robb III, MD; John Tongue, MD; Edward Toriello, MD; Vernon T. Tolo, MD; and Kristy Weber, MD, served as mentors.

2009-2010 LFP class
The 2009–2010 LFP class includes James W. Barber, MD; Charles S. Day, MD; Louis G. Jenis, MD; James C. Krieg, MD; Fraser J. Leversedge, MD; Anand M. Murthi, MD; Alexandra E. Page, MD; Javad Parvizi, MD; Steven J. Svoboda, MD; and Roxanne E. Wallace, MD.

Academy fellows who will serve as mentors are Jeffrey Anglen, MD; James H. Beaty, MD; Dwight W. Burney III, MD; Richard I. Burton, MD; Richard H. Gross, MD; Shepard R. Hurwitz, MD; William J. Robb III, MD; Matthew S. Shapiro, MD; Michael J. Yaszemski, MD, PhD; and Michele M. Zembo, MD, MBA.

LFP cultivates future leaders
Established in December 2001, the LFP identifies future leaders and prepares them to assume roles of responsibility within AAOS. The LFP combines didactic leadership training with an ongoing mentoring program that matches the participants with an established leader within the orthopaedic community. As advisor and confidant, the mentor fosters a close professional and personal relationship that continues throughout the fellowship year and beyond.

Watch the LFP video, "Members make it happen"