Published 4/1/2009

A Pat on the Back

  • CAPT Dana C. Covey, MD, chair of orthopaedic surgery at Naval Medical Center in San Diego, who received the first COL Brian Allgood, MD, Military Orthopaedic Leadership Award presented by the Society of Military Orthopaedic Surgeons
  • John P. Dormans, MD, chief of orthopaedic surgery at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, who will receive the Humanitarian Scientific Achievement Award from the MHE (Multiple Hereditary Exostoses) Research Foundation
  • Gregory Brown, MD, PhD, a member of the AAOS Biomedical Engineering Committee, will be the 2009 recipient of the ASTM Joseph Barr Award, one of the highest awards conferred by Committee F04 on physician members, acknowledging his contributions to the development of medical device and materials standards
  • Winners of the AAOS 2009 Annual Meeting Scientific Exhibit Awards of Excellence: J. Dennis Bobyn, PhD; Michael Tanzer, MD; Dorota Karabasz, RN; and Jan J. Krygier, CET (SE33: Locally Delivered Bisphosphonate for Enhancement of Bone Formation and Implant Fixation); Richard M. Dell, MD; David V. Anderson, MD; Denise Greene, RNP; Kathy Williams, MSG (SE66: Osteoporosis Disease Management: What Every Orthopaedic Surgeon Should Know); and Dawn LaPorte, MD; Michael A. Mont, MD; David R. Marker, BS; Mike S. McGrath, MD; Slif D. Ulrich, MD; and Thorsten M. Seyler, MD (SE50, Orthopaedic Journal Publications and Their Role in the Preparation for the OITE)
  • Winners of the AAOS 2009 Annual Meeting Best in Poster Category: Overall winner—Spine (P378) Ahmad N. Nassr, MD; Jason C. Eck, DO, MS; Ravi K. Ponnappan, MD; Rami R. Zanoun, BS; William F. Donaldson III, MD; James Kang, MD; Adult Reconstruction Hip—(P078) Seoug Yong Lee, MD; Barry J. Waldman, MD; Esther A. Schaftel, RNFA; Adult Reconstruction Knee—(P121) Eun Kyoo Song, MD; Jong-Keun Seon, MD; Sang Jin Park, MD; Young-Jin Kim, MD; Chang-Ich Hur, MD; Min-Sun Choi, MD; Sung Taek Jung, MD; Foot and Ankle—(P219) Matthew DiSilvestro, MD; Fabian Krause, MD; Mark Glazebrook, FRCSC; Murray J. Penner, MD; Alastair S. E. Younger, MD; Kevin J. Wing, MD; Hand and Wrist—(P240) Jonas L. Matzon, MD; Roger Cornwall, MD; Pediatrics—(P247) Alexandre Arkader, MD; Gökce Mik, MD; Alexander Manteghi, BS; John P. Dormans, MD; Practice Management/Rehabilitation—(P273) William C. Schroer, MD; Paul Diesfeld, PA-C; Mary E. Reedy, RN; Angela LeMarr, RN; Shoulder and Elbow—(P313) Nobuyuki Yamamoto, MD; Takayuki Muraki, PhD; Kai-Nan An, PhD; John W. Sperling, MD, MBA; Eiji Itoi, MD; Robert H. Cofield, MD; Gilles Walch, MD; Scott P. Steinmann, MD; Sports Medicine and Arthroscopy—(P451) John M. Tokish, MD; Colleen M. McBratney, MD; Daniel J. Solomon, MD; Lance E. LeClere, MD; Matthew T. Provencher, MD; Trauma—(P465) Keith D. Baldwin, MD; Surena Namdari, MD, MS; John L. Esterhai Jr., MD; Samir Mehta, MD; Tumor and Metabolic Disease—(P539) Ljiljana Bogunovic, BA; Lisa Shindle, NP; Brandon S. Beamer, BA; Nakul Karkare, MD; Abraham Kim, BA; Joseph Nguyen, MPH; Joseph M. Lane, MD