Published 7/1/2009
Rhonda Taira

OMeGA awards first grants

The OMeGA Medical Grants Association recently awarded 45 fellowship grants in 9 orthopaedic specialties. In addition, 21 residency/general education grants were awarded for the 2009–2010 academic year.

Established in 2008 through the efforts of the American Orthopaedic Association, OMeGA is an independent legal entity with a singular mission: To award and manage grants for orthopaedic graduate medical education (GME) through an open, accessible process designed to safeguard against potential conflicts of interest and to ensure transparency in the allocation of resources.

The OMeGA review committee and board reviewed 258 applications, awarding grants based on merit. Members of the review committee and board worked to uphold OMeGA’s mission to be objective, independent, and transparent in funding GME.

Members of the OMeGA review committee include Peter B. Ajluni, DO; David E. Attarian, MD; Walton W. Curl, MD; Todd A. Kile, MD; Mark P. McAndrew, MD; Steve A. Petersen, MD; and James J. Purtill, MD. Members of the OMeGA board of directors involved in the decision process include C. McCollister Evarts, MD; Michael A. Simon, MD; Michele M. Zembo, MD, MBA; Richard H. Gross, MD; and William W. Tomford, MD.

Orthopaedic specialty societies played a key role by providing valuable input to develop objective criteria. They also offered suggestions and outreach to their membership to solicit nonconflicted specialists to serve on review committees.

The OMeGA Medical Grants Association was established to ensure the continued financial support of orthopaedic residency and fellowship programs—the foundational and absolutely essential components of orthopaedic practice and professionalism. Zimmer, Inc. is the founding supporter of OMeGA.

For more information, visit www.omegamedicalgrants.org

Rhonda Taira is director, grants management, OMeGA Medical Grants Association. She can be reached at taira@omegamedicalgrants.org