Published 11/1/2009

Pat on the back…

    • 2009-2010 board members for the American Foundation for Surgery of the Hand: Peter J. Stern, MD, chairman; Andrew J. Weiland, MD, vice chairman; Frederick F. Fakharzadeh, MD, president; John M. Bednar, MD, secretary; Arnold-Peter C. Weiss, MD, treasurer; and trustees Robert M. Szabo, MD; Thomas E. Trumble, MD; L. Andrew Koman, MD; James Chang, MD; J. Mark Evans, MD; Fraser J. Leversedge, MD; William H. Seitz Jr., MD.

    • 2009-2010 members of the Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) board of directors: Richard E. McCarthy, MD, president; Lawrence G. Lenke, MD, president elect; B. Stephens Richards III, MD, vice president; Steven M. Mardjetko, MD, treasurer; David W. Polly, Jr, MD, secretary; Hubert Labelle, MD, secretary-elect; Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD, past president I; George H. Thompson, MD, past president II; Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD, past president III; Kamal N. Ibrahim, MD, Kenneth MC Cheung, MD, J. Abbott Byrd, MD, and Serena S. Hu, MD, directors.

    • Marc A. Asher, MD, and David B. Levine, MD, winners of the SRS Lifetime Achievement Award.

    • Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD, winner of the Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award.

    • Additional SRS award winners: Justin Smith, MD, PhD; Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD; Steven D. Glassman, MD; Sigurd H. Berven, MD; Christopher L. Hamill, MD; William C. Horton III, MD; Stephen L. Ondra; Frank J. Schwab; Charles A. Sansur; Keith H. Bridwell, MD (Best Clinical Paper); Francis H. Shen, MD; Qing Zeng, Gary Balian (Best Basic Science Paper); Jean-Marc Mac-Thiong, MD; Stefan Parent, MD; Benoit Poitras, MD; Hubert Labelle, MD (Best Clinical Poster); Hong Zhang, MD, and Daniel J. Sucato, MD (Best Basic Science Poster).

    • Mark W. Galland, MD, named to the Trentini Foundation board of directors; the foundation provides opportunities for students to pursue higher education and further develop personal and professional skills.

    • A. Seth Greenwald, DPhil Oxon, recipient of the British Orthopaedic Association’s Presidential Medal for contributions to orthopaedic education and research.

    • The AAOS 75th Anniversary Committee and the AAOS public relations department—in recognition of the communications program and Web site “Moving Stories” (http://www.aaos75.org/), celebrating the 75 years of orthopaedics, which received the inaugural 2009 “Council’s Choice Award” presented by the American Society of Association Executives and The Center for Association Leadership.