We will be performing site maintenance on AAOS.org on February 8th from 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM CST which may cause sitewide downtime. We apologize for the inconvenience.

(From left) Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD, AAOS President; Julie Johnson, National Panhellenic Conference Delegate; Bonnie Warren, Kappa Delta Immediate Past President; Kristy L. Weber, MD, CORQAT chair; and Lil Leslie, chair of the Kappa Delta Foundation


Published 9/1/2009

AAOS thanks Kappa Delta for 60 years of support

AAOS President Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD, and Kristy L. Weber, MD, chair of the AAOS Council on Research, Quality Assessment, and Technology (CORQAT), attended the 2009 Kappa Delta sorority convention to express the Academy’s sincere appreciation for the generous, longstanding contributions Kappa Delta (KD) has made to the field of orthopaedic surgery.

The first KD award—for $1,000—was presented at the AAOS Annual Meeting in 1950. Since then, both the number and funding of awards have increased. Currently, the Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award, the Ann Doner Vaughan Award, and the Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award—each worth $20,000—are presented each year at the AAOS Annual Meeting.

The KD awards are given to an investigator(s) who submit a large body of scientific work, usually reflecting years of investigation with high significance and impact in either basic or clinical orthopaedic research. The awards are often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Orthopaedics.”

KD award winners have researched virtually every major area of orthopaedic surgery, including the following: biomechanics of the hip/knee/hand, bone biology, cartilage biology, muscle/tendon injury and repair, osteomyelitis, and low back pain. Recipients find these awards to be a key component of their research career and success.