Published 9/1/2009

Pat on the back...

  • John A. Bergfeld, MD, recipient of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) Mr. Sports Medicine Award and inductee into the AOSSM Hall of Fame. Per Renstrom, MD, and Giancarlo Puddu, MD, are the international inductees in the AOSSM Hall of Fame
  • Mininder S. Kocher, MD, and Peter A. Indelicato, MD, new members of the AOSSM board of directors.
  • Cato T. Laurencin, MD, one of 22 science, math, and engineering mentors chosen to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence.
  • Steven J. Morgan, MD; David C. Templeman, MD; Andrew N. Pollak, MD; and Abbott Kagan II, MD, for their efforts in developing and conducting an educational offering to Jordanian and Iraqi orthopaedic physicians.
  • Marc E. Rankin, MD, elected to the Washington, D.C., Board of Medicine.
  • Kimberly J. Templeton, MD, recipient of the first McClean Award for Excellence in Teaching.
  • Officers and members of the American Orthopaedic Association Executive Committee for 2009-2010: Vincent D. Pellegrini, Jr., MD, president; Gary E. Friedlaender, MD, first president-elect; Douglas R. Dirschl, MD, second president-elect; Scott D. Boden, MD, secretary; David S. Ruch, MD, secretary-elect; Serena S. Hu, MD, treasurer; Louis U. Bigliani, MD, first past president; Peter J. Stern, MD, second past president; Edward N. Hanley, Jr., MD, historian; Constance R. Chu, MD, and Valerae O. Lewis, MD, delegates-at-large; Dennis M. Murphy, lay delegate; Sanford E. Emery, MD, MBA, Steven L. Frick, MD, Richard J. Haynes, MD, Alan S. Hilibrand, MD, Terrance D. Peabody, MD, Paul Tornetta, III, MD, and Kristy L. Weber, MD, committee members.
  • The 2009-2010 members of the AOFAS Board of Directors: Charles L. Saltzman, MD, president; Keith L. Wapner, MD, president-elect; Judith F. Baumhauer, MD, vice president; Steven L. Haddad, MD, secretary; Lew C. Schon, MD, treasurer; Robert B. Anderson, MD, immediate past president, Steven D.K. Ross, MD, past president; J. Chris Coetzee, MD, Stephen J. Pinney, MD, Jeffrey E. Johnson, MD, and Naomi N. Shields, MD, members-at-large.
  • The 2009-2010 members of the AOFAS Outreach & Education Fund board of directors: Sheldon S. Lin, MD, president; Lew C. Schon, MD, treasurer; Steven L. Haddad, MD, secretary; directors Robert B. Anderson, MD; Judith F. Baumhauer, MD; W. Hodges Davis, MD; Bryan D. Den Hartog, MD; Charles L. Saltzman, MD; Keith L. Wapner, MD; and Paul J. Juliano, MD, ex-officio member.
  • Charles L. Saltzman, MD, winner of the AOFAS 2009 Roger A. Mann Award for Outstanding Clinical Paper. Co-authors included: Michael J. Coughlin, MD; Roger A. Mann, MD; Jeanette E. Ahrens, PhD; Annunziato Amendola, MD; Robert B. Anderson, MD; Gregory C. Berlet, MD; James W. Brodsky, MD; Loretta B. Chou, MD; Thomas O. Clanton, MD; Jonathan T. Deland, MD; James K. DeOrio, MD; Greg A. Horton, MD; Thomas H. Lee, MD; Jeffrey A. Mann, MD; James A. Nunley, II, MD; David B. Thordarson, MD; Arthur K. Walling, MD; and Keith L. Wapner, MD.