We will be performing site maintenance on our learning platform at learn.aaos.org on Sunday, January 29th at 12 AM EST. The site will be down for up to 5 hours. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Published 4/1/2010

Pat on the back...

  • The American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) 2010–2011 board of directors: Mary I. O’Connor, MD, president; Carlos J. Lavernia, MD, first vice president; Thomas P. Vail, MD, second vice president; Thomas K. Fehring, MD, third vice president; Peter F. Sharkey, MD, treasurer; Michael H. Huo, MD, secretary; William J. Robb III, MD, immediate past president; David G. Lewallen, MD, past president; and Robert L. Barrack, MD, Craig J. Della Valle, MD, C. Anderson Engh Jr., MD, Douglas E. Padgett, MD, members at large.
  • The Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) officers for 2010–2011: S. Terrance Canale, MD, chair; Regis J. O’Keefe, MD, chair elect; Mr. H. Michael Immel, FACMPE, treasurer; Ramon L. Jimenez, MD, secretary and vice chair, development; James D. Heckman, MD, vice chair, research grants; Frank B. Kelly, MD, vice chair, educational grants; and Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD, vice chair, corporate relations.
  • Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation (MTF) research grant recipients: Quanjun Cui, MD; Thomas Keller, MD; Jay R. Lieberman, MD; Mara Schenker, MD; Alexander Shin, MD; D. R. Sumner, Jr., PhD.
  • E. Anthony Rankin, MD, named to the Orthopaedic Institute of Medicine (OIOM) Task Force addressing Surgeon/Industry Relations.
  • Asheesh Bedi, MD, recipient of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) Cabaud Memorial Award; Bruce Miller, MD, recipient of the AOSSM O’Donoghue Sports Injury Research Award; and Jon Sekiya, MD, recipient of the AOSSM Excellence in Research Award.
  • Henry J. Mankin, MD, recipient of the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS)/OREF Distinguished Investigator Award.
  • Recipients of ORS research awards: Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA (William Harris Award); Vicki Rosen, PhD (Marshall R. Urist Award); Adele L. Boskey, PhD (ORS/American Orthopaedic Association Alfred R. Shands Jr., MD Award); Christopher H. Evans, PhD (ORS Alfred Steindler, MD Award); Linda J. Sandell, PhD (ORS Women’s Leadership Forum Award).
  • Recipients of Awards of Excellence for their Scientific Exhibits at the AAOS 2010 Annual Meeting: Liz Paxton, MA; Robert S. Namba, MD; Maria Carolina Secorun Inacio, MS; Monti Khatod, MD; Gregory B. Maletis, MD; Eric J. Yue, MD; T. Ted Funahashi, MD; and Ronald W. B. Wyatt, MD (A Prospective Study of 80,000 Total Joint and 5,000 ACLR Procedures in a Community-based Registry in the United States); Neil S. Ghodadra, MD; Robert C. Grumet, MD; Bernard R. Bach Jr., MD; Timothy Scott Mologne, MD; Matthew T. Provencher, MD; and Anthony A. Romeo, MD (Recurrent Shoulder Instability: Current Concepts for Evaluation and Management of Glenoid Bone Loss); Michael Bottlang, PhD; Josef Doornink, MS; Daniel C. Fitzpatrick, MD; John Lawrence Marsh, MD; Peter Augat, PhD; Brigitte von Rechenberg, MD; Maren Lesser, MD; and Steven Michael Madey, MD (Effects of Construct Stiffness on Healing of Fractures Stabilized With Locking Plates).
  • The 250 AAOS members who received Achievement Awards for their volunteer service in orthopaedics—with the AAOS, with orthopaedic specialty societies, and with the broader medical community. For a complete listing, see the March 10 edition of AAOS Now: The Daily Edition.