Published 11/1/2010

Pat on the back...

  • The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery officers for 2010–2011: James R. Kasser, MD, president; Christopher D. Harner, MD, vice-president; David F. Martin, MD, president-elect; Terry L. Thompson, MD, secretary; Sanford E. Emery, MD, MBA, treasurer. James R. Roberson, MD, and James E. Carpenter, MD, were elected as directors.
  • The North American Spine Society (NASS) appointments for 2010–2011: William C. Watters III, MD, treasurer; Charles A. Mick, MD, second vice president; Mitchel B. Harris, MD, FACS, surgical representative to the 2011 NASS nominating committee; and Michael DePalma, MD, rehabilitation interventional medical spine (RIMS) representative to the 2011 NASS nominating committee.
  • The 2010–2011 Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) board of directors: Lawrence G. Lenke, MD, president; B. Stephens Richards III, MD, president-elect; Kamal N. Ibrahim, MD, FRCS(C), MA, vice president; Hubert Labelle, MD, secretary; Steven M. Mardjetko, MD, FAAP, treasurer; Paul D. Sponseller, MD, treasurer-elect; Richard E. McCarthy, MD, past president I; Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD, past president II; George H. Thompson, MD, past president III; J. Abbott Byrd III, MD; Serena S. Hu, MD; John R. Dimar II, MD; and Francisco Sanchez Perez-Grueso, MD, directors.
  • Jeanne L. DelSignore, MD, honored with the Civilian Service Award (Monroe County, N.Y.) for her attempted rescue of a drowning victim.
  • Mark W. Galland, MD, named medical director and orthopaedic consultant for Wake Technical Community College.
  • Stuart Hirsch, MD, who spearheaded efforts to build a safe, universally accessible playground in Somerset County, N.J.
  • Serena S. Hu, MD, recipient of the NASS David Selby Key Service Award.
  • Clyde L. Nash Jr., MD, recipient of the SRS Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • Michael E. Russell II, MD, named president of the Physician Hospitals of America (PHA) board of directors.
  • Alexander Vaccaro, MD, PhD, recipient of the Leon Wiltse Clinical Research Award, presented by NASS.
  • The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons’ Web site Orthopaedia®, honored with the 2010 “Edit This” Charlie Award.