Published 6/1/2011
Richard N. Peterson, JD

Fellows elect 2012 Nominating Committee

The members of the 2012 AAOS Nominating Committee have been identified. In February, the AAOS Board of Directors appointed the chair and in May, the AAOS fellowship elected six members of the 2012 Nominating Committee. The 2012 Nominating Committee members are as follows:

E. Anthony Rankin, MD, Chair
James R. Andrews, MD (Ala.)
Champ L. Baker Jr., MD (Ga.)
S. Terry Canale, MD (Tenn.)
Lawrence D. Dorr, MD (Calif.)
Christopher D. Harner, MD (Pa.)
Ken Yamaguchi, MD (Mo.)
Marybeth Ezaki, MD
(Texas) was elected as the alternate member of the committee. Of the 23,560 active, inactive, and emeritus fellows eligible to vote, 4,098 (17.5 percent) cast valid ballots.

The 2012 Nominating Committee will present its slate of nominees to the fellowship by Oct. 12, 2011, 120 days prior to the business meeting at the 2012 Annual Meeting. The 2012 Nominating Committee will present a slate of candidates for the following positions:

  • Second Vice President
  • Board member-at-large (age 45 or older on Feb. 9, 2012)
  • Board member-at-large (younger than age 45 on Feb. 9, 2012)
  • Member, AAOS National Membership Committee
  • Four nominees, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS)

The 2012 Nominating Committee is actively soliciting suggestions for individuals who might serve in these positions. Please prepare your recommendations, along with a paragraph on your candidates and why you believe they are uniquely qualified for the position for which you are nominating them. Send this information to E. Anthony Rankin, MD, Chair, 2012 Nominating Committee, c/o AAOS Office of General Counsel, 6300 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018-4202. Candidates will be asked to provide other material as condition for consideration, including an abbreviated curriculum vitae (CV) and information regarding their relationships with industry.

Richard N. Peterson, JD, is the AAOS general counsel.