Published 11/1/2011

Announcing the 2012 slate of AAOS leaders

On Oct. 12, 2011, the AAOS Nominating Committee released its recommended slate of nominees. The release was timed to correspond to bylaw amendments adopted by the Fellowship after the 2010 Annual Meeting.

Chaired by E. Anthony Rankin, MD, the Nominating Committee also included James R. Andrews, MD; Champ L. Baker Jr, MD; S. Terry Canale, MD; Lawrence D. Dorr, MD; Christopher D. Harner, MD; and Ken Yamaguchi, MD. They were charged with identifying and recommending candidates for the following offices: Second Vice-President, Member-at-Large (age 45 or older), Member-at-Large (younger than age 45), AAOS National Membership Committee, and four nominees to the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS).

Under the AAOS Disclosure Program, each nominee was required to provide detailed financial information on all relationships with commercial orthopaedic or medical companies for the past year as well as all income generated by nondirect patient care services (such as ownership of surgical care centers or physical therapy services or consulting arrangements with the government or private insurers).

This material was reviewed in an anonymously coded format by the AAOS Committee on Outside Interests, chaired by Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD. The Committee on Outside Interests then developed Plans for Active Management (PAMs) for each nominee.

According to Dr. Rankin, “A PAM is designed to provide guidance to the individual on how to address the conflicts of interest issues that may arise during his or her service as a member of the AAOS Board of Directors. Each nominee indicated whether he or she agreed to be bound by the terms of the PAM if elected to office.”

After extensive discussion, the 2012 Nominating Committee recommended the following individuals to serve in the specified AAOS leadership positions:

  • Second Vice President: Frederick M. Azar, MD
  • Member-at-Large (age 45 or older): Annunziato Amendola, MD
  • Member-at-Large (younger than age 45): Matthew B. Dobbs, MD
  • National Membership Committee representative: Terry L. Thompson, MD
  • Nominees to the ABOS: Lowry Jones Jr, MD; William J. Maloney, MD; Charles L. Saltzman, MD; John W. Sperling, MD, MBA

The AAOS Fellowship will have the opportunity to vote on these recommendations at the business meeting on Thursday, Feb. 9, 2012, during the 2012 Annual Meeting in San Francisco.