Published 6/1/2012
Richard N. Peterson, JD

Members Elect 2013 Nominating Committee, Endorse Ballot Measures

One quarter of fellowship cast ballots

For the second year, the AAOS Fellowship elected members to the AAOS Nominating Committee and voted on proposed AAOS resolutions, bylaw amendments, and revised Standards of Professionalism (SOPs) using a single ballot—and primarily on the Internet.

By April 23, 2012, the end of the balloting period, 5,536 fellows had cast ballots, 23.85 percent of those eligible to vote. Fellows were asked to select six members to serve on the 2013 Nominating Committee and to vote on retaining three AAOS resolutions under the 5-year review process. In addition, four groups of bylaws amendments were put to the fellowship as well as revisions to the SOPs on Orthopaedic Surgeon-Industry Relationships.

At the time of the 2012 balloting, the AAOS had 23,560 active, emeritus, and inactive fellows eligible to vote. Ballots and information on voting were delivered primarily via the Internet. Fellows who had not provided the AAOS with an e-mail address but had provided a fax number received a ballot and balloting information by fax. The relatively small number of orthopaedic surgeons who had not provided AAOS with either an e-mail address or a fax numbers received a written ballot and background information via the U.S. Postal Service.

Votes were tallied by the AAOS research department staff. All valid online and fax submissions received prior to midnight on April 23 were included. Mailed ballots that were postmarked by April 23 and received by noon on April 26 were also included. A majority (78 percent) of the ballots were returned online, while 22 percent were returned via fax or hardcopy.

2013 Nominating Committee
The Board of Directors appointed the chair of the 2013 Nominating Committee in February; the other six members were elected through this balloting. The members of the 2013 Nominating Committee are as follows:

  • Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD (N.Y.), chair
  • John A. Bergfeld, MD (Ohio)
  • Robert W. Bucholz, MD (Texas)
  • James D. Heckman, MD (N.H.)
  • James H. Herndon, MD (Mass.)
  • Mark D. Miller, MD (Va.)
  • Augustus A. White, III, MD, PhD (Mass.)

Other results
Table 1
shows the results of balloting on the resolutions, bylaw amendments, and SOPs. The recommendation of the AAOS Resolutions Committee was adopted for each of the three resolutions on the ballot. The recommendations of the AAOS Bylaws Committee were also adopted on four bylaw amendments—several dealing with certain aspects of the AAOS professional compliance program, one dealing with the composition of the Board of Councilors (BOC) and Board of Specialty Societies (BOS) and the last dealing with process by which AAOS officers and certain Board members are elected. Proposed revisions to the SOPs on Orthopaedic Surgeon-Industry Relationships were also adopted.

Richard N. Peterson, JD, is the AAOS general counsel. He can be reached at peterson@aaos.org