Published 6/1/2012

Pat on the Back...

  • Steven R. Garfin, MD, named president of the International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery for 2012–2013.
  • Robert P. Good, MD, awarded the Sir John Charnley Award by the Arthritis Foundation.
  • William J. Jarvis, MD, named Physician Citizen of the Year by the Wisconsin Medical Society.
  • Seth S. Leopold, MD, selected editor-in-chief of Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research, effective Jan. 1, 2013.
  • Theodore Parsons III, MD, awarded the Colonel Brian Allgood Memorial Leadership Award by the Society of Military Orthopaedic Surgeons.
  • New officers of The Knee Society: Giles R. Scuderi, MD, president; Steven J. MacDonald, MD, first vice-president; Thomas K. Fehring, MD, second vice-president; Thomas P. Vail, MD, third vice-president; Robert B. Bourne, MD, immediate past president; Adolph V. Lombardi Jr, MD, education committee chair; William J. Maloney III, MD, education committee chair-elect; Kevin L. Garvin, MD, research chair; Thomas P. Sculco, MD, member-at-large.
  • New officers of the California Orthopaedic Association (COA): Kevin J. Bozic, MD, president; Leslie H. Kim, MD, first vice-president; Robert M. O’Hollaren, MD, second vice-president; William W. Brien, MD, secretary-treasurer; and board members Nicholas A. Abidi, MD; Jeffrey D. Coe, MD; Michael P. Muldoon, MD; Michael B. Purnell, MD; and Jennifer M. Weiss, MD.
  • New board members of the Mid-America Orthopaedic Association: Bernard N. Stulberg, MD, president; Craig S. Roberts, MD, first vice-president; J. Lawrence Marsh, MD, second vice-president; Thomas L. Schmidt, MD, historian; C. Lowry Barnes, MD, member-at-large; Andrew D. Markiewitz, MD, 2013 program committee chair; and Terence J. Gioe, MD, membership committee chair.
  • 2012 American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society Research Grant Recipients: Erik Nilssen, MD; Elizabeth Russell, PhD; Richard T. Laughlin, MD; Greg Boivin, DVM; Thomas O. Clanton, MD; Norman Waldrop III, MD; Timo Schmid, MD; and Fabian Krause, MD
  • 2012 COA annual meeting award winners: James T. Caillouette, MD; Jonathan Pribaz, MD; J. Harold LaBriola, MD; Derek Amanatullah, MD; Lloyd W. Taylor, MD; Samantha L. Piper, MD; and Alexander Theologis, MD.