Published 12/1/2013
Richard N. Peterson, JD

Nominating Committee Recommends 2014 Slate

On Nov. 13, 2013, the AAOS Nominating Committee released its recommended slate of nominees. The release was timed to correspond to bylaw amendments adopted by the Fellowship after the 2010 Annual Meeting.

Chaired by John J. Callaghan, MD, the Nominating Committee also included Stephen S. Burkhart, MD; Richard H. Gelberman, MD; Robert N. Hensinger, MD; Bernard F. Morrey, MD; Peter J. Stern, MD; and Vernon T. Tolo, MD. The committee was charged with identifying, interviewing, and recommending candidates for the following offices: Second Vice-President, Treasurer-Elect, Member-at-Large (no age designation), Member-at-Large (younger than age 45), and AAOS National Membership Committee.

After an expansive search process, the development of Plans for Active Management of Conflicts of Interest, and extensive discussion, the 2014 Nominating Committee recommended the following individuals to serve in the specified AAOS leadership positions:

  • Second Vice President: Gerald R. Williams, Jr, MD
  • Treasurer-Elect: Ken Yamaguchi, MD, MBA
  • Member-at-Large (age 45 or older): Raj D. Rao, MD
  • Member-at-Large (younger than age 45): Jennifer M. Weiss, MD
  • National Membership Committee representative: Col. Edward D. Arrington, MD

AAOS members will be able to cast online ballots prior to and during the first part of the 2014 Annual Meeting. Balloting will begin on Feb. 26, 2014, and continue through 1:00 p.m. CST on March 12, 2014. The results will be announced during the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons on Thursday, March 13, 2014, during the 2014 Annual Meeting in New Orleans.

Richard N. Peterson, JD, is the AAOS General Counsel. He can be reached at peterson@aaos.org