Published 7/1/2013
Richard N. Peterson, JD

Fellows Elect 2014 Nominating Committee

The members of the 2014 AAOS Nominating Committee have been identified. At its meeting in March, the AAOS Board of Directors appointed John J. Callaghan, MD, as chair of the 2014 Nominating Committee.

In May, the AAOS fellowship elected the following six members to serve on the 2014 Nominating Committee:

  • Stephen S. Burkhart, MD (Texas)
  • Richard H. Gelberman, MD (Mo.)
  • Robert N. Hensinger, MD (Mich.)
  • Bernard F. Morrey, MD (Texas)
  • Peter J. Stern, MD (Ohio)
  • Vernon T. Tolo, MD (Cal.)

Michelle A. James, MD (Cal.), was elected as the alternate member of the committee. Of the 23,532 active, inactive, and emeritus fellows who are eligible to vote and could be contacted, 4,251 (18 percent) cast valid ballots.

The 2014 Nominating Committee will present its slate of nominees to the fellowship by Nov. 13, 2013, 120 days prior to the business meeting at the 2014 Annual Meeting. The 2014 Nominating Committee will present a slate of candidates for the following positions:

  • Second vice-president
  • Treasurer-elect
  • Board member-at-large (age 45 or older)
  • Board member-at-large (younger than age 45 on March 13, 2014)
  • Member, AAOS National Membership Committee

The 2014 Nominating Committee is actively soliciting suggestions for individuals who might serve in these positions. Please prepare your recommendations, along with a paragraph on your candidate and why you believe he or she is uniquely qualified for the specific position. Send this information to John J. Callaghan, MD, chair, 2014 Nominating Committee, c/o AAOS Office of General Counsel, 6300 N. River Road, Rosemont, Ill. 60018-4202.

Candidates will be asked to provide other materials as condition for consideration, including an abbreviated curriculum vitae and information regarding their relationships with industry.

Richard N. Peterson, JD, is the AAOS General Counsel.