Published 6/1/2013

Pat on the Back...

  • Paul E. Beaulé, MD, FRCSC; Sasha Carsen, MD, MBA; Paul Moroz, MD, FRCSC; Kawan Rakhra, MD, FRCPC; Leanne M. Ward, MD; Hal Dunlap, MD; John A. Hay, PhD; and Baxter Willis, MD, FRCSC, recipients for the Hip Society 2013 Otto Aufranc Award
  • Alvin H. Crawford, MD, recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Center for Closing the Health Gap in Greater Cincinnati. Mayor Mark Mallory designated May 8, 2013, as “Dr. Alvin Crawford Day” in the City of Cincinnati.
  • Craig J. Della Valle, MD; Richard A. Berger, MD; Michael B. Cross, MD; Scott M. Sporer, MD, MS; Mario Moric, MS; and Paul H. Yi, BA, recipients of the Hip Society 2013 Frank Stinchfield Award.
  • Matthew Eichenbaum, MD, winning contestant on “Jeopardy!”
  • Charles A. Engh Sr, MD, recipient of the Hip Society 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • Donald S. Garbuz, MD, MHSc, FRCSC; Clive P. Duncan, MD, MSc, FRCSC; Bassam A. Masri, MD, FRCSC; Brian A. Hargreaves, PhD; David R. Wilson, DPhil; and Bruce B. Forster, MD, MSc, recipients of the Hip Society 2013 John Charnley Award.
  • Prof. Fares S. Haddad, FRCS, appointed editor-in-chief of The Bone & Joint Journal (formerly known as Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery, British Volume).
  • James V. Luck, MD, recipient of the Pietrogrande Prize from the World Federation of Hemophilia.
  • The Knee Society 2013 Chitranjan Ranawat Award recipients: Craig J. Della Valle, MD; Matthew W. Tetreault, BA; Nathan G. Wetters, MD; Vinay Aggarwal, BS; Michael A. Mont, MD, and Javad Parvizi, MD, FRCS.
  • New officers and board members of the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons: Miguel A. Ayerza, MD, president; Charles L. Saltzman, MD, first vice-president; Marlene DeMaio, MD, second vice-president; R. Lor Randall, MD, FACS, secretary; Xavier A. Duralde, MD, treasurer; Edward G. McFarland, MD, immediate past president; Mary I. O’Connor, MD, past president; Randall E. Marcus, MD, chair, Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research (CORR) board of trustees; Matthew B. Dobbs, MD, member-at-large; Donald H. Lee, MD, editor’s representative; David B. Levine, MD, historian; Seth S. Leopold, MD, editor-in-chief, CORR.
  • 2013 AOFAS Resident Scholars: Michael C. Aynardi, MD; Joanthan D. Backus, MD; Katherine M. Bedigrew, MD; Erwin Bennett, MD; Clayton C. Bettin, MD; Yelena Bodgan, MD; Tony Bryant, MD; Katherine Cabrejo-Jones, MD; Tom Chao, MD; Justin B. Clayton, MD; James A. Costanzo, MD; Donald Jeffrey Covell, MD; Robert S. Eberly, MD, Andrew Ertl, MD; Chad Ferguson, MD; Wesley W. Flint, MD; Clary J. Foote, MD; Kamran S. Hamid, MD, MPH; M. Daniel Hatch, MD; J. Marshall Haynie, MD; Bryant Ho, MD; Kurt J. Hofmann, MD; Lyle T. Jackson Jr, MD; Justin M. Kane, MD; Derek J. Klaus, MD; Asher Kupperman, MD; John S. Lewis Jr, MD; Katharine I. Mangan, MD; Paul E. Matuszewski, MD; R. Matthew McKean, MD; Christopher Miller, MD; Sara Lyn Miniaci-Coxhead, MD; Harvey Montijo, MD; Daniel Moon, MD; Jared Niska, MD; George Ochenjele , MD; Cameron Patthanacharoenphon, MD; Stephen Reichard, MD; Matthew S. Ross, MD; David Ruta, MD; Michael I. Sandlin, MD; Paul Switaj, MD; Dmitry Tsvetkov, MD.