Published 12/1/2014
Richard N. Peterson, JD

Nominating Committee recommends 2015 Slate

On Nov. 24, 2014, the AAOS Nominating Committee released its recommended slate of nominees. The release was timed to correspond to bylaw amendments adopted by the Fellowship after the 2010 Annual Meeting.

Chaired by Daniel J. Berry, MD, the 2015 Nominating Committee also included Annunziato (Ned) Amendola, MD; Kevin J. Bozic, MD; Amy L. Ladd, MD; Vincent D. Pellegrini, Jr., MD; Chitranjan S. Ranawat, MD; and Roy W. Sanders, MD. The committee was charged with identifying, interviewing, and recommending candidates for the following offices: Second Vice-President, Member-at-Large (no age designation), Member-at-Large (younger than age 45), National Membership Committee representative; and four nominees to the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS).

After an expansive search process, the development of Plans for Active Management of Conflicts of Interest, and extensive discussion, the 2015 Nominating Committee recommended the following individuals to serve in the specified AAOS leadership positions:

Second Vice President: William J. Maloney, MD

Member-at-Large (no age designation): Howard R. Epps, MD

Member-at-Large (younger than age 45): Daniel C. Farber, MD

National Membership Committee representative: Robert M. Orfaly, MD

Nominees to ABOS: Joshua J. Jacobs, MD; Keith Kenter, MD; Gregory A. Mencio, MD; and Dean C. Taylor, MD

The AAOS Fellowship will have the opportunity to cast online ballots on these recommendations prior to and during the first part of the 2015 Annual Meeting. Balloting will begin on Wednesday, March 11, 2015, and continue through 1:00 p.m. PST on Wednesday, March 25, 2015. The results will be announced during the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons on Thursday, March 26, 2015, during the 2015 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas.

Richard N. Peterson, JD, is the AAOS General Counsel. He can be reached at peterson@aaos.org