Published 4/1/2015

Meet Your New Board Members

Five orthopaedic surgeons and one lay member took their places on the AAOS Board of Directors during the 2015 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas. They were introduced to the fellowship at that time; here’s your opportunity to meet them.

The board members include the new second vice-president, two elected at-large members, the recently elected secretaries of the Board of Councilors (BOC) and Board of Specialty Societies (BOS), and a new lay member.

William J. Maloney III, MD
Second Vice-President

The election of Dr. Maloney as second vice-president begins the first of a 3-year term of volunteer service that will crest with his serving as president of the AAOS in 2017–2018.

Dr. Maloney is the Elsbach-Richards Professor in Surgery, and professor and chairman of the department of orthopaedic surgery at Stanford University School of Medicine. Dr. Maloney has served on numerous AAOS committees, including the Council on Education. He currently cochairs the AAOS/American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) Combined Task Force on Maintenance of Certification (MOC).

Previously, he was chair of the American Joint Replacement Registry board of directors and on the boards of directors for the Knee Society, the Hip Society, the Western Orthopaedic Association, and the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons. Dr. Maloney is a past president of the Hip Society.

Dr. Maloney attended undergraduate school at Stanford University and received a medical degree from Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York City. He completed his internship and residency in orthopaedic surgery at Stanford Medical Center and also was a clinical fellow in hip reconstruction surgery at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. Prior to becoming orthopaedic chair at Stanford, Dr. Maloney served on the faculty of the department of orthopaedic surgery at Washington University School of Medicine and as chief of orthopaedics at Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis, Mo.

Howard R. Epps, MD
Member-at-large (no age designation)

A Houston orthopaedic surgeon Dr. Epps, is assistant chief of orthopaedic surgery and medical director for pediatric orthopaedics and scoliosis at Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston. He also serves as secretary of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, and first president-elect of the Texas Orthopaedic Association. He was an AAOS Leadership Fellow in 2002 and has served on the AAOS Patient Safety Committee, the editorial board of AAOS Now, and the BOS Health Policy Committee.

Dr. Epps received a bachelor’s degree from Harvard University and a medical degree from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He completed an internship in general surgery at Massachusetts General Hospital, his residency at the Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program, and a fellowship in pediatric orthopaedic surgery at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Canada.

Daniel C. Farber, MD
Member-at-large (younger than age 45)

A Philadelphia orthopaedic surgeon Dr. Farber, is assistant professor of clinical orthopaedic surgery and foot and ankle surgery, the foot and ankle fellowship director, and director of foot and ankle research at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Farber was an AAOS Leadership Fellow in 2013. He also has been very involved with the American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society (AOFAS), serving as chair of the Fellowship Match Committee and Fellowship Curriculum task force.

Dr. Farber received a bachelor’s degree from Dartmouth College and a medical degree from the University of Maryland School of Medicine. He completed an internship in general surgery and a residency in orthopaedic surgery at Pennsylvania State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. He then went on to a fellowship in foot and ankle orthopaedics at Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla.

Lisa K. Cannada, MD
BOS Secretary

Dr. Cannada attended medical school at the University of Maryland. She completed her residency at University Hospitals of Cleveland, Case Western University School of Medicine, followed by a trauma fellowship at the R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore. Since 2008, she has been an orthopaedic traumatologist at Saint Louis University Hospital, Mercy Medical Center, and associate professor at Saint Louis University.

Dr. Cannada was an AAOS Leadership Fellow (2007–2008) and is the recipient of numerous awards and honors. She has been active professionally as a reviewer and editorial board member of several publications and was the editor of Orthopaedic Knowledge Update 11 and the 1st and 2nd editions of the Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society (RJOS) Guide for Women in Orthopaedic Surgery.

Dr. Cannada recently completed her second term as the chair of the BOS Match Oversight Committee and the chair of the AAOS Membership Committee. She is a member of both the RJOS and the Orthopaedic Trauma Association (OTA). She established the OTA Young Practitioner’s Forum and is a founder of Women in Trauma, a mentoring group for women pursuing careers in orthopaedic trauma.

Daniel K. Guy, MD
BOC Secretary

Georgia-based Dr. Guy earned his medical degree from the University of Louisville. He trained at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio and completed a fellowship in adult reconstruction at the Inselspital in Bern, Switzerland.

A member of the Georgia Orthopedic Society, Dr. Guy served as the society’s president and continues to serve on its board of directors. He is a charter member of the Georgia Society of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery, the Alamo Orthopedic Society, the A-O Alumni Association, and the Medical Association of Georgia. He is also a member and past president of the Troup County Medical Society.

Dr. Guy has served as a member of the board of directors and past president of the Georgia Society of Ambulatory Surgery Centers. He is one of two BOC representatives from Georgia and is in private practice at Emory Southern Orthopedics, Lagrange, Ga. He practices all aspects of general orthopaedics and has a special interest in shoulder and hip surgery and sports medicine.

Ken Sowards, MBA
Lay Board Member

Business consultant Ken Sowards was appointed lay member of the AAOS Board of Directors and assumed his position at the 2015 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas. Mr. Sowards is currently a principal with RKS Consulting in Dallas, an independent professional services firm providing a variety of services for public and private companies.

Mr. Sowards has had executive-level responsibilities with service and technology companies, including experience with multiple start-up and rapid growth businesses in telecommunications, solar, data center services, and interactive wellness/fitness office equipment. He has served as chief financial officer and chief executive officer of several multimillion-dollar companies. He has extensive international experience as well, giving him a broad perspective on the challenges facing organizations with global operations.

A graduate of Austin College (Economics) and the University of Texas in Austin (MBA), Mr. Sowards sits on the boards of directors for several companies as well as the North Texas Regional Center of Innovation and