Published 2/1/2015

2015–2016 LFP Class Announced

The Leadership Fellows Program (LFP) class of 2015–2016 consists of 10 new LFP fellows who were selected by the AAOS Leadership Development Committee (LDC).

Established in December 2001, the LFP is a 1-year program that identifies future leaders and prepares them to assume roles of responsibility within AAOS. The LFP combines didactic leadership training with an ongoing mentoring program that matches the participants with an established leader within the orthopaedic community. The mentor and fellow foster a close professional and personal relationship that continues throughout the fellowship year and beyond.

The LFP is designed to introduce fellows to the AAOS governance structure and enable future leaders to observe AAOS leadership at work. LFP fellows participate in interactive leadership development programs, engage in opportunities for peer-to-peer interactions and learning, and experience service on an AAOS committee. In addition, the LFP fellows are allowed one site visit to their mentor’s institution (or the mentor may visit the fellow’s institution) during the year.

“Participating in the program provides many benefits for fellows, such as involvement in educational programs to enhance leadership skills and learning how the AAOS is organized and functions,” said LDC Chair Mitchel B. Harris, MD.

Alexandra E. Page, MD, who currently chairs the AAOS Health Care Systems Committee, was a member of the 2008–2009 LFP class. “The LFP reading list and the opportunity to attend a leadership program took me out of my usual comfort zone and made me think about the best practices from the business world and how they applied to orthopaedics,” she recalled. “The time I spent with my mentor was priceless!”

The 2015–2016 class will hold their orientation during the AAOS Annual Meeting in March 2015 in Las Vegas. In addition, the graduating 2014–2015 class will be recognized. Applications for the class of 2016–2017 will be available online beginning in May 2015.

For more information on the LFP program, visit www.aaos.org/lfp

2015–2016 LFP Class

Joseph A. Abboud, MD
Robert Allen Butler II MD
Michelle S. Caird, MD
David Joseph, MD
Brett Russell Levine, MD
Hassan Riaz Mir, MD, MBA
Patrick M. Osborn, MD
Coleen S. Sabatini, MD, MPH
Gabriel Elias Soto, MD
Bashir A. Zikria, MD, MSc


David A. Halsey, MD
Michael Lloyd Parks, MD
Steven L. Frick, MD
Andrew N. Pollak, MD
Javad Parvizi, MD
M. Bradford Henley, MD, MBA, FACS
Kyle James Jeray, MD
Matthew Barrett Dobbs, MD
Ronald Anthony Navarro, MD
Steven James Svoboda, MD