We will be performing site maintenance on AAOS.org on February 8th from 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM CST which may cause sitewide downtime. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Published 7/1/2015

Pat on the Back…

  • Joan E. Bechtold, PhD, appointed to the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases advisory council.
  • Andrew W. Gorman, MD, president-elect of the American Medical Association.
  • Stephen Eckrich, MD, recipient of the South Dakota State Medical Association 2015 Media Award.
  • David L. Helfet, MD, recipient of the Hospital for Special Surgery’s Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • Alan S. Hilibrand, MD, recipient of a Becker’s Healthcare Spine Surgeon Leadership Award.
  • Colin Moseley, MD, recipient of the 2015 Distinguished Achievement Award from the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America (POSNA).
  • POSNA award-winning authors: Matthew Dobbs, MD, Basic Science Paper; Donald Bae, MD, POSNA/Orthopaedic Trauma Award Paper; Lori A. Karol, MD, Clinical Scientific Paper; Mark Sinclair, MD, Scientific e-Poster; William Hennrikus Jr, MD, Scientific Poster
  • POSNA/Asian Pacific Pediatric Orthopaedic Society traveling fellows: Eric Edmonds, MD; A. Noelle Larson, MD; and Amy McIntosh, MD.
  • 2015 POSNA research grant and award winners: Clinical Research—Unni G. Narayanan, MBBS, MSc, FRCSc, and Matthew Milewski, MD; Basic Science—Jonathan J. Rios, MD, and Kerwyn C. Jones, MD; Clinical Trials Grant—Benjamin D. Martin, MD; Start-Up Research Grants—Christopher Reilly, MD; Collin May, MD; and David M. Scher, MD; Directed Research Grants—Benton E. Heyworth, MD, and Kevin G. Shea, MD; Depuy Synthes Spine Research Grant—James Barsi, MD; Biomet Spine Research Grant—Stefan Parent, MD; Angela S. M. Kuo Award—Michael Glotzbecker, MD; Arthur H. Huene Award—Mininder S. Kocher, MD; St. Giles Young Investigator Award—Walter H. Truong, MD.
  • Jeffrey Sawyer, MD, recipient of the POSNA Special Effort Award.
  • Elizabeth Szalay, MD, POSNA Humanitarian Award (posthumous).
  • J. Richard Steadman, MD, recipient of a 2015 Distinguished Alumni Award from Texas A&M University.
  • Harris S. Yett, MD, recipient of the Massachusetts Orthopaedic Association (MOA) 2015 Orthopaedist of the Year Award.
  • MOA board members (2015): Robert L. Patz, MD, president; Samantha A. Spencer, MD, vice-president; and Richard M. Wilk, MD, clerk/treasurer.