Published 6/1/2015

Kappa Delta, OREF Call for Manuscripts

The AAOS is soliciting manuscripts for the 2016 Kappa Delta Awards and the 2016 Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award. Up to two $20,000 Kappa Delta awards (Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award and Ann Doner Vaughan Award), one $20,000 Kappa Delta Young Investigator award, and one $20,000 OREF award will be bestowed, provided manuscripts of requisite quality are submitted.

Often referred to as the Nobel Prize of orthopaedic research, the Kappa Delta Orthopaedic Research Awards have been presented to researchers in a variety of orthopaedic disciplines. They have recognized key discoveries pertaining to bone grafting, treatment of polio, surgical correction of scoliosis, knee replacement, prevention and treatment of osteoporosis, arthroscopic surgery, and many other leading orthopaedic advancements.

Manuscripts should represent a large body of cohesive scientific work generally reflecting years of investigation. If the submission reflects a single project, it should be of high significance and impact. Manuscripts must be submitted by members or candidate members of the AAOS, (ORS), Canadian Orthopaedic Association or Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society.

The 2016 Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research Award winners will receive their awards at the 2016 AAOS Annual Meeting in Orlando, Fla., on March 3, 2016. Award winners are expected to present their papers during the 2016 ORS Annual Meeting, also in Orlando, Fla., on March 6, 2016.

Instructions and the required cover template are available online at www.aaos.org/kappadelta

Submissions for the 2016 Kappa Delta and OREF Clinical Research Awards will be accepted in electronic format only. Please email a PDF of your entire submission to kappadelta@aaos.org no later than 11:59 p.m. CDT on July 1, 2015. Late submissions will not be considered.