William W. Cross III, MD, discusses a case with course participants.
Courtesy of Alkem Laboratories


Published 1/1/2017
Lisa Murphy

AAOS Holds Trauma Conclave

Program strengthens ties with India
With more than 1.3 billion people, India is the world's second most populous country. It also has a high rate of trauma injuries and deaths, many of which are the result of traffic accidents. According to India's Ministry of Home Affairs' National Crime Records Bureau, one serious traffic accident occurs every minute and 16 people die on Indian roads every hour.

As part of its ongoing commitment to fostering global orthopaedic education, the AAOS implemented the Trauma Conclave in 2011 to help improve trauma care in India. The program was held for the third time in September in partnership with the Indian Orthopaedic Association (IOA) and Insignia Communications.

"The IOA is pleased to partner with the AAOS in providing a forum to discuss and learn the latest in trauma care," said Sudhir Kapoor, MD, president of the IOA and chair of the 2016 India Trauma Conclave. "Over the past few years, we have successfully discussed newer trauma management methods."

The two-day course was held in Delhi and Goa, with more than 400 participants at each location. AAOS faculty included Robert D. Zura, MD, course director; William W. Cross III, MD; Andrew N. Pollak, MD; and Philip R. Wolinsky, MD. The program featured didactic lectures on treatment and infection management in upper and lower extremity fractures. Afterward, Indian orthopaedic surgeons asked AAOS faculty to provide their treatment recommendations for a variety of interesting cases. By all accounts, the question and answers sessions were very informative and a popular aspect of the program.

"The Indian faculty presented very unique cases that we do not see in the United States. Their expertise in treating these cases was impressive, and I enjoyed exchanging treatment viewpoints," said Dr. Zura.

Dr. Pollak agreed. "The level of audience participation in the question and answer sessions was astounding, so much so that the discussions continued during breaks and meals," he said.  "It was clear that the participants were very experienced practitioners. In many ways, I felt I learned more at the meeting than I taught."

Participants also enjoyed the course, with 99 percent of those completing the course evaluation saying they would recommend the course to a colleague. More than 95 percent of participants gained at least some new knowledge of the topics covered and are confident that they will implement the primary practice changes taught at the course.

A continuing relationship
During the course held in Goa, Ram Prabhoo, MD, incoming president of the IOA, highlighted the relationship between the AAOS and IOA. In particular, he noted that India will be honored as the Guest Nation at the 2017 AAOS Annual Meeting. Guest Nation special events and activities include a collaborative symposium, special poster tour, 20 featured posters from India, and education sessions featuring Indian orthopaedic experts. More than 300 Indian orthopaedic surgeons are expected to attend the 2017 AAOS Annual Meeting, double the number from past years.

The AAOS also participates in the IOA Annual Conference (IOACON) and held a hip course during the 2016 IOACON last month in Kochi, India. The 4th Trauma Conclave is expected to take place next year. "The interest level of local faculty and participants highlighted the value of this year's meeting and of the topics selected," said Dr. Cross. "This program is clearly an essential component to advancing our mutual understanding on the newest developments and collective achievements in trauma care."
The AAOS Trauma Conclave is generously supported by a grant from Bergen Healthcare SBU Alkem Laboratories.

Lisa Murphy is coordinator, international education programs at AAOS. She can be reached at murphy@aaos.org

India Trauma Conclave IOA Faculty
Dr. Mandeep Singh Dhillon, course director
Dr. Amit Ajgaonkar
Dr. Jamal Asharaf
Dr. Sushrut Babhulkar
Dr. Anil Dhal
Dr. Chandrasekhar Dhar
Dr. P. M. Gadre
Dr. V. K. Gautam
Dr. M. S. Ghosh
Dr. Mukesh Jain
Dr. Sudhir Kapoor
Dr. Ritabh Kumar
Dr. Rajesh Malhotra
Dr. John Mukhopadhaya
Dr. Shishir Rastogi
Dr. Indrajit Sardar
Dr. Vineet Sharma
Dr. Dhirendra Singh
Dr. R. N. Singh

Dr. J. Dheenadhayalan,
course director
Dr. S. Amarnath
Dr. Sudhir Babhulkar
Dr. L.J. Chandy
Dr. Samuel Chittranjan
Dr. H. R. Jhunjhunwala
Dr. G. S. Kulkarni
Dr. Udaya Kumar
Dr. Nandkishore S. Laud
Dr. Ram Prabhoo
Dr. Muthuvel Rajan
Dr. Shantharam Shett