Published 4/1/2018

Congratulations to the 2018 Senior Achievement Award and Achievement Award Winners

Volunteer involvement is at the heart of all AAOS activities. The Academy’s meetings, courses, educational materials, clinical practice guidelines, and advocacy efforts are just a few of the many activities that depend on volunteer participation. Not only are volunteers vital to the AAOS, they also play a significant role in local, state, and national orthopaedic societies; specialty societies; and the broader medical community.

The AAOS Board of Directors established the Achievement Award Program in 2005 to encourage and enhance individual growth of Academy members and to thank them for their service.

2018 Senior Achievement Award Winners
This level requires 30 credits, which encompasses at least 10 years of volunteer service to the profession of orthopaedic surgery. Winners include:
Michael T. Archdeacon, MD
Frederick M. Azar, MD
Eric M. Bluman, MD, PhD
Joseph A. Bosco III MD
John J. Callaghan, MD
Henry D. Clarke, MD
Ronald Emilio Delanois, MD
Gregory Della Rocca, MD
David M. Dines, MD
Matthew Barrett Dobbs, MD
Howard R. Epps, MD
Christopher H. Evans, PhD
Jeffrey S. Fischgrund, MD
Richard J. Friedman, MD
Leesa M. Galatz, MD
Theodore J. Ganley, MD
Kevin L. Garvin, MD
Mitchel B. Harris, MD
Martin Joseph Herman, MD
William A. Jiranek, MD
Guido Marra, MD
Joel Mayerson, MD
James J. McCarthy, MD
Carol D. Morris, MD, MS
Mary I. O’Connor, MD
Christopher L. Peters, MD
Thomas P. Sculco, MD
Kevin G Shea, MD
Robert T. Trousdale, MD
Eeric Truumees, MD
Stephen C. Weber, MD
Gerald R. Williams Jr, MD
Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD
2018 Achievement Award Winners

This level requires 10 credits. Winners include:
Michael S. Aronow, MD
Charles J. Banta II, MD
Robert H. Bell, MD
Robert Shay Bess, MD
Richard E. Bowen, MD
Travis C. Burns, MD
Michael T. Busch, MD
Louis W. Catalano III, MD
Manuel F. DaSilva, MD
Marlene DeMaio, MD
Andrew A. Freiberg, MD
David L. Glaser, MD
Mark Glazebrook, MD
Alejandro Gonzalez Della Valle, MD
Jeffrey A. Greenberg, MD
Carlos Guanche, MD
Steven B. Haas, MD
Brian R. Hamlin, MD
Samer S. Hasan, MD, PhD
Syed Ashfaq Hasan, MD
Michael R. Hausman, MD
Jose A. Herrera Soto, MD
Dolfi Herscovici Jr, DO
Paul M. Huddleston, MD
Thomas B. Hughes Jr, MD
Mark R. Hutchinson, MD
Joshua E. Hyman, MD
Stephen T. Imrie, MD
Stephen J. Incavo, MD
David Joseph Jacofsky, MD
D. Kay Kirkpatrick, MD
Joon Yung Lee, MD
Martha K. Lenhart, MD, PhD
Bruce A. Levy, MD
Scott J. Luhmann, MD
ChunBong Benjamin Ma, MD
Ormonde M. Mahoney, MD
Randall Evan Marcus, MD
David F. Martin, MD
John J. McGraw, MD
Menachem M. Meller, MD
R. Michael Meneghini, MD
Thomas Edward Mroz, MD
Thomas F. Murray Jr MD
Sumon Nandi, MD
Kevin M. Neal, MD
Daniel Atherton Oakes, MD
Patrick M. Osborn, MD
Mark A. Palumbo, MD
Michael J. Patzakis, MD
Laura Phieffer, MD
Kornelis Andries Poelstra, MD
John D. Polousky, MD
Steven I. Rabin, MD
Karl E. Rathjen, MD
Peter C. Rhee, MD
Christopher James Roach, MD
Karl C. Roberts, MD
Rachel S. Rohde, MD
Thomas G. Sampson, MD
George T. Shybut, MD
Klaus Siebenrock, MD
Robert R. Slater Jr, MD
John K. Sontich, MD
Julie A. Switzer, MD
Ruth Lourdes Thomas, MD
David B. Thordarson, MD
Marc Evan Umlas, MD
Klane K. White, MD
Jennifer Moriatis Wolf, MD
Brian R. Wolf, MD
Elizabeth M. Yu, MD
Robert D. Zura, MD

For more information on the AAOS Achievement Awards Program, visit www.aaos.org/AchievementAward.