We will be performing site maintenance on AAOS.org on March 25th from 7:00 PM – 10:00 PM CST which may cause sitewide downtime. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Published 3/25/2022

American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons Specialty Day Focuses on Long-term Outcomes for RSA

On Saturday, the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons (ASES) will host their 2022 Specialty Day, which will provide a unique opportunity for orthopaedic surgeons to learn firsthand from national and international leaders in the field. This year’s program will include lively debates, discussions, and case presentations covering an array of topics, including tendon tears, fractures, instability, arthritis, and basic science. The session will be held in Room S105 in the McCormick Place Convention Center.

The highlight of the daylong course will be a “Classic” 20-year Reverse Shoulder Arthroplasty (RSA) Symposium moderated by Jonathan Levy, MD, FAAOS, chief of orthopaedic surgery at Holy Cross Orthopaedic Institute, who will be joined by leading experts Christian Gerber, MD; Pascal Boileau, MD; and ASES Immediate Past President Mark A. Frankle, MD, FAAOS.

“As we are seeing more RSAs performed year after year in the United States and abroad, our goal is to ensure good long-term results with functional outcomes and implant survivorship,” said Randall Otto, MD, FAAOS, ASES Specialty Day co-chair. “Some of the topics that will be discussed as it pertains to RSA outcomes are how to avoid complications in younger active patients to achieve long-term success; how to reduce risk of long-term humeral loosening; and how to achieve good baseplate fixation in the setting of severe glenoid bone loss.”

Other segments of note for the day include a session on periprosthetic infections, moderated by Joseph P. Iannotti, MD, PhD, FAAOS, and Jason Hsu, MD, FAAOS; a B2 glenoid cased-based presentation moderated by Andrew Jawa, MD, FAAOS, and Thomas Bradley Edwards, MD, FAAOS; as well as 15 informative paper presentations.

The 2022 ASES Specialty Day is co-chaired by Dr. Otto and Matthew J. Teusink, MD.