Published 3/24/2022
Terry Stanton

Hear from AAOS Leadership (and More) at Your Academy 2022

Event to feature speeches, awards, and guest speaker Jon Meacham

Join your colleagues as they gather Thursday at 9:30 a.m. in the Grand Ballroom for Your Academy 2022, the marquee event where AAOS leaders share their perspectives with the membership and present their vision for the organization. Daniel K. Guy, MD, FAAOS, 2021–2022 president, will reflect on his year of service and the Academy accomplishments and initiatives during his term. Incoming President Felix H. Savoie III, MD, FAAOS, will sound themes for the coming year and the challenges and opportunities it promises, and First Vice President Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA, FAAOS, will speak to the value of service to the profession and the community.

In addition to speeches by the Presidential Line, Your Academy is the occasion for the membership to recognize the role of specialty societies and international organizations and to salute their leaders. The event also acknowledges the generous contributions of the Academy’s industry partners.

At 10:30 a.m., the Academy honors the recipients of its annual major awards for distinguished service to the profession, as well as the orthopaedic researchers and clinicians selected by the Kappa Delta Foundation and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) for their accomplishments in testing new therapies and advancing the understanding of musculoskeletal disease.

Each year, the Academy bestows three awards to individuals for their outstanding contributions in the categories of leadership, diversity, and humanitarian activity.

The Tipton Leadership Award recognizes AAOS members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities that have benefitted the orthopaedic community, patients, and/or the American public. The award honors and celebrates the life, accomplishments, and qualities of the late William W. Tipton Jr, MD, an orthopaedic surgeon, educator, and former AAOS executive vice president. This year, the award goes to Andrew W. Gurman, MD, FAAOS.

The Diversity Award recognizes AAOS members who have distinguished themselves through their outstanding commitment to making orthopaedics more representative of and accessible to diverse patient populations. The recipient this year is Cato T. Laurencin, MD, PhD, FAAOS.

The Humanitarian Award honors AAOS members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding musculoskeletal- related humanitarian activities in the United States or abroad. Keith S. Feder, MD, FAAOS, is selected for this year’s reward.

The following individuals are the recipients of the Kappa Delta/OREF awards:

  • Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award: Lawrence J. Bonassar, PhD, for “All Mechanics Are Local: Understanding the Micromechanics and Mechanobiology of Cartilage in Functional Joint Health, Disease, and Repair”
  • Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award: L. Scott Levin, MD, FAAOS, FACS, FAOS, for “From Replantation to Transplantation: The Evolution of Orthoplastic Extremity Reconstruction”
  • Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award: Alayna E. Loiselle, PhD, for “Leveraging Fundamental Tendon Cell Biology to Define Mechanistic Regulation of Tendon Homeostasis and Healing”
  • OREF Clinical Research Award: Martha M. Murray, MD, FAAOS, for “Bridge-enhanced ACL Restoration: Translation from Academic Lab to FDA Approval”

A distinguished historian and thinker

The presidential guest speaker takes the stage at 11 a.m. This year, Dr. Guy has invited Jon Meacham, historian, writer, and commentator on past and current events, to address the Academy. Mr. Meacham has written biographies of three U.S. presidents. His book American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for biography in 2009.

Mr. Meacham frequently appears on television as a commentator on history and politics and has earned a reputation for observing current events through the lens of history while transcending partisanship.

In choosing Mr. Meacham, Dr. Guy noted that he “wanted to offer our colleagues and guests something interesting and memorable from a gifted speaker.”

Terry Stanton is the senior science writer for AAOS Now.