## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

March 29, 2023

The Honorable Ken Calvert Chairmen Subcommittee on Defense House Committee on Appropriations H-405 Capitol Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Betty McCollum Ranking Member Subcommittee on Defense House Committee on Appropriations H-405 Capitol Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairmen Calvert and Ranking Member McCollum,

We are writing to respectfully request \$35 million for the peer-reviewed orthopedic research program (PRORP) in the FY 2024 Defense Appropriations legislation. Peer-reviewed orthopedic research has been funded through PRORP since FY 2009 and before that the Orthopedic Extremity Trauma Research Program (OETRP) from FY 2006 – FY 2009.

PRORP is one of the most successful Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRPs) housed under the Department of Defense (DOD). It is a competitive grant program that funds focused basic and clinical research pertaining to extremity war injuries through direct grants to research institutions. More than 15,000 patients have been enrolled in studies funded by this program to date. Results will lead to major improvements in surgeons' abilities to care for these devastating injuries.

The program received an initial \$114 million investment in FY 2009, with funding stable at \$30 million since FY 2012. The initial higher investment levels allowed for development of a consortium of centers engaged in this research and a methods center to ensure that rigorous scientific design and study principles have been employed throughout. We are requesting an increase to \$35 million in order to maintain stable funding for the consortium infrastructure and to ensure that studies have the greatest chance of achieving success.

Over half of all combat injuries sustained during Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF) and Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF) involved extremity injuries and orthopedic-specific conditions secondary to battle injury. In addition, extremity injuries accounted for the greatest proportion of medical resource utilization and caused the greatest number of disabled military personnel, accounting for 65% of total inpatient resource spending and 64% of projected disability costs.

We are hopeful that the Subcommittee will provide \$35 million in the FY 2024 Defense Appropriations legislation to ensure this important work can continue to assist those who have made tremendous sacrifices while defending the United States of America.

Sincerely,

Seth Moulton

Seth Moulton
Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell Jr

Gregorio Kilili Camacho

Sablan

Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar

Member of Congress

William R. Keating

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson
Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis

Ted W. Lien

Danny K. **Q**avis Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Paul Tonko

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress Dean Phillips
Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster

Member of Congress

regory WMeetos

Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

nmy Panetta

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress Jahana Hayes Member of Congress Lloyd Doggett

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Tinde J. Jain

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio
Member of Cor

Member of Congress

Nikema Williams

Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr.

Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle

Member of Congress

Nick LaLota

Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D.

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress Jeff Jackson

Member of Congress