1 - 10 of 26 Results

Search Results

Fellowship Votes for AAOS Leaders

Voting on the slate of candidates recommended by the 2019 Nominating Committee will occur during the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons on Thursday. The AAOS business meeting will begin at 9:30 a.m. The new leaders will take office at the conclusion of the 2019 Annual Meeting.

Three scientific exhibits win Award of Excellence

The 2009 Annual Meeting features 88 Scientific Exhibits, which can be viewed in Hall D. All the exhibits present valuable information and are well worth visiting. But according to the Exhibits Committee, three are stand-outs.

Committee members Lynn A. Crosby, MD, chair; J. David Blaha, MD; A. Seth Greenwald, DPhil (Oxon); Michael H. Huo, MD; Alfonso Mejia, MD; Michael P. Mott, MD; David L. Nelson, MD; Martin Plotkin, MD; William H. Seitz Jr, MD, and Jeffrey L. Visotsky, MD, viewed each exhibit on Wednesday. Exhibits were evaluated based on the following criteria:

The following three Scientific Exhibits were chosen by the com­mit­tee to receive the Award of Excellence:

What's Happening in Orthopaedic Education?

Council on Education examines the literature

Robert F. Murphy, MD

The education of an orthopaedic surgeon occurs in three stages: first as a medical student, next as a resident/fellow trainee, and finally as a lifelong learner through continuing education. Although the three phases are well known to orthopaedic surgeons and their trainees, no comprehensive analysis of published literature about the quality and effectiveness of orthopaedic education exists. Few objective data can be found that identify the best educational practices for preparing orthopaedists and sustaining their expertise during each formative stage of their career.

5_ RJOS Society Profile BOS Fall Mtg 2017 Slides

Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society Leadership Claudette Lajam President Alexandra Page Vice President, BOS Presidential Line Rep Marlene DeMaio Secretary Dawn LaPorte Treasurer Abu Muhammad Executive Director Representative Julie Samora BOS member representative RJOS Mission: Promote professional development of and fo

A Pat on the Back

CAPT Dana C. Covey, MD, chair of orthopaedic surgery at Naval Medical Center in San Diego, who received the first COL Brian Allgood, MD, Military Orthopaedic Leadership Award presented by the Society of Military Orthopaedic Surgeons John P. Dormans, MD, chief of orthopaedic surgery at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, who will receive the Humanitarian Scientific Achievement Award from the MHE (Multiple Hereditary Exostoses) Research Foundation Gregory Brown, MD, PhD, a member of the AAOS Biomedical Engineering Committee, will be the 2009 recipient of the ASTM Joseph Barr Award, one of the highest awards conferred by Committee F04 on physician members, acknowledging his contributions to the development of medical device and materials standards Winners of the AAOS 2009 Annual Meeting Scientific Exhibit Awards of Excellence: J. Dennis Bobyn, PhD; Michael Tanzer, MD; Dorota Karabasz, RN; and Jan J. Krygier, CET (SE33: Locally Delivered Bisphosphonate for Enhancement of Bone Formation and Implant Fixation); Richard M. Dell, MD; David V. Anderson, MD; Denise Greene, RNP; Kathy Williams, MSG (SE66: Osteoporosis Disease Management: What Every Orthopaedic Surgeon Should Know); and Dawn LaPorte, MD; Michael A. Mont, MD; David R. Marker, BS; Mike S. McGrath, MD; Slif D. Ulrich, MD; and Thorsten M. Seyler, MD (SE50, Orthopaedic Journal Publications and Their Role in the Preparation for the OITE) Winners of the AAOS 2009 Annual Meeting Best in Poster Category: Overall winner—Spine (P378) Ahmad N. Nassr, MD; Jason C. Eck, DO, MS; Ravi K. Ponnappan, MD; Rami R. Zanoun, BS; William F. Donaldson III, MD; James Kang, MD; Adult Reconstruction Hip—(P078) Seoug Yong Lee, MD; Barry J. Waldman, MD; Esther A. Schaftel, RNFA; Adult Reconstruction Knee—(P121) Eun Kyoo Song, MD; Jong-Keun Seon, MD; Sang Jin Park, MD; Young-Jin Kim, MD; Chang-Ich Hur, MD; Min-Sun Choi, MD; Sung Taek Jung, MD; Foot and Ankle—(P219) Matthew DiSilvestro, MD; Fabian Krause, MD; Mark Glazebrook, FRCSC; Murray J. Penner, MD; Alastair S. E. Younger, MD; Kevin J. Wing, MD; Hand and Wrist—(P240) Jonas L. Matzon, MD; Roger Cornwall, MD; Pediatrics—(P247) Alexandre Arkader, MD; Gökce Mik, MD; Alexander Manteghi, BS; John P. Dormans, MD; Practice Management/Rehabilitation—(P273) William C. Schroer, MD; Paul Diesfeld, PA-C; Mary E. Reedy, RN; Angela LeMarr, RN; Shoulder and Elbow—(P313) Nobuyuki Yamamoto, MD; Takayuki Muraki, PhD; Kai-Nan An, PhD; John W. Sperling, MD, MBA; Eiji Itoi, MD; Robert H. Cofield, MD; Gilles Walch, MD; Scott P. Steinmann, MD; Sports Medicine and Arthroscopy—(P451) John M. Tokish, MD; Colleen M. McBratney, MD; Daniel J. Solomon, MD; Lance E. LeClere, MD; Matthew T. Provencher, MD; Trauma—(P465) Keith D. Baldwin, MD; Surena Namdari, MD, MS; John L. Esterhai Jr., MD; Samir Mehta, MD; Tumor and Metabolic Disease—(P539) Ljiljana Bogunovic, BA; Lisa Shindle, NP; Brandon S. Beamer, BA; Nakul Karkare, MD; Abraham Kim, BA; Joseph Nguyen, MPH; Joseph M. Lane, MD