New AAHKS President, Board Members Take Office

On Wednesday, March 7, 2018, Craig J. Della Valle, MD, took office as the 28th president of the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) during the AAHKS board of directors meeting in New Orleans.


Craig J. Della Valle, MD

Dr. Della Valle is the Aaron G. Rosenberg Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and chief of the section of adult reconstruction at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago. He specializes in primary and revision total joint arthroplasty. Dr. Della Valle completed his residency at the Hospital for Joint Diseases in New York City where he spent a year devoted to clinical and basic science research in the field of adult reconstructive surgery. He completed a fellowship in adult reconstructive surgery at Rush University Medical Center and Central DuPage Hospital.

Other board members taking office at the meeting include Richard Iorio, MD, third vice-president, and James A. Browne, MD, and Mark J. Spangehl, MD, members-at-large for 2018–2020.

Dr. Iorio is chair of the AAHKS Health Policy Council, the Advocacy Committee, and cochairs the Advanced Alternative Payment Model Task Force. He is the Dr. William and Susan Jaffe Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, department of orthopaedic surgery, and chief, division of adult reconstructive surgery at NYU Langone’s Hospital for Joint Diseases and codirector of the Joint Preservation and Arthritis Center.

Dr. Brown currently serves on the AAHKS Program Committee and practices in Charlottesville, Va. Dr. Spangehl is an associate editor for Arthroplasty Today and practices in Phoenix.