Your Academy 2023

Hear from Your Academy Leadership 

At our 2023 Your Academy ceremony, members of the AAOS Presidential Line reflect on the past year and present their visions for our association's future.

Felix Savoie_2022.jpg

Felix H. Savoie III, MD, FAAOS
2022 Presidential Address

Kevin Bozic_2022.jpg

Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA, FAAOS
2023 Presidential Address

Program Highlights

Presidential Guest Speaker

Tom Watson Headshot.jpg

Tom Watson

Tom Watson is one of the most successful and enduring professional golfers in the history of the sport. In 2009, nearing his 60th birthday, he led the British Open much of the way before losing in a playoff. It was the feel-good sports story of the year, and will be talked about for as long as games are played and reported. That stunning performance led to a revised British Open age limit that exempts Watson for at least five more years at the world's oldest major championship, a tournament he's won five times among his eight PGA Tour majors. In total, Watson has won 39 times on the PGA Tour; six times he was PGA Player of the Year and five times the leading money winner. Playing mostly on the over-50 Champions Tour now, he has won 13 more times there including five senior majors.

Watson was born in 1949 in Kansas City, Missouri, and has stayed true to the Midwest's solid values. Today, he lives on a farm outside Kansas City, and can be found doing chores and riding his wife's cutting horses when he's not on tour (he admits to falling off a horse only twice). His father Ray, a long time scratch player, introduced him to golf at age 6. A young Tom soon developed into a state amateur champion at age 17, and went on to play for Stanford University, earning a degree in psychology in 1971. He joined the PGA Tour that same year and won his first tournament, the Western Open, in 1974. Learning to overcome defeat at an early age, Watson lost the lead at the 1974 and 1975 U.S. Opens, but learned from his struggles and broke-through in 1977 where he won both the Masters and the British Open.

Learn more