Published 6/12/2019

AAOS Member Michael Suk, MD, Elected to AMA Board of Trustees

ROSEMONT, Ill. (June 12, 2019) — American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) member Michael Suk, MD, was elected this week to the American Medical Association (AMA) Board of Trustees. Dr. Suk has been involved with the AMA for almost 30 years, having served as an AAOS delegate and current chair of the newly-formed Mobility Caucus, and will further help to represent the orthopaedic specialty in his new role on the board.  

“Dr. Suk’s election to this prestigious position is a testament to his decades of leadership and outstanding advocacy for the medical profession. Especially for those early career physicians just starting to engage in the policy-making process and understand the impact those decisions have on their ability to provide care,” said AAOS President Kristy L. Weber, MD. “We’re proud to have a dedicated, experienced orthopaedic surgeon in AMA leadership and congratulate Dr. Suk on this high honor.”

Dr. Suk is board-certified in orthopaedic surgery, a chief physician officer of Geisinger System Services, chairman of Geisinger’s Musculoskeletal Institute and Department of Orthopedic Surgery, and a current member of the AAOS Health Care Systems Committee. He was the first medical student directly elected to the AMA Board of Trustees and has since served on the organization’s Council of Medical Service and chaired the Resident and Fellow Section.

His candidacy for the board was supported by both the Orthopaedic Section Council—an AAOS-led group of orthopaedic specialty and sub-specialty delegates to the AMA—and the newly-formed Mobility Caucus—18 like-minded national medical specialty societies within the AMA House of Delegates.

“With 26 total delegates, the Mobility Caucus is larger than any single state or specialty society delegation within the AMA,” said AAOS Medical Director William S. Shaffer, MD. “This strong musculoskeletal representation, along with Dr. Suk’s elevated position, help ensure that orthopaedic issues and initiatives to advance the quality of care are shared within the organization.”  

Additional AAOS delegates to the AMA include Kimberly Templeton, MD; John Early, MD; William “Bill” Martin, MD; Andrew “Andy” Gurman, MD; Casey Humbyrd, MD; and Heidi Hullinger, MD. 

# # #

Full AMA announcement on Dr. Suk’s election: 

Contact AAOS Media Relations 

Deanna Killackey 


Lauren Riley