AAOS Member Recognition Awards

Each year, the AAOS honors three members with the following awards:

  • Diversity Award
  • Humanitarian Award
  • William W. Tipton, Jr., MD, Leadership Award

The recipients of these awards are recognized during YourAcademy at the AAOS Annual Meeting.

The recognition of AAOS members through these three awards is an important Academy activity and follows a consistent and fair Awards Protocol.

Diversity Award

The Diversity Award recognizes AAOS Active Fellows and Emeritus Fellows who have distinguished themselves through their outstanding commitment to making orthopaedics more representative of and accessible to the diverse population it serves.

2024 Diversity Award Nomination Form (closed)

Diversity Award Criteria

Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognizes AAOS Active Fellows, Emeritus Fellows, and International members of the AAOS who have distinguished themselves through outstanding musculoskeletal-related humanitarian activities in the United States or abroad.

2024 Humanitarian Award Nomination Form (closed)

Humanitarian Award Criteria

Tipton Leadership Award

The Tipton Leadership Award recognizes AAOS Active Fellows or Candidate members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities that have led to benefits for the orthopaedic community, patients, and/or the American public.

2024 Tipton Leadership Nomination Form (closed)

Tipton Leadership Award Criteria

AAOS Achievement Award Program

The spirit of this recognition program is to encourage and celebrate active volunteer involvement by our members. We have established this Achievement Award Program to recognize your participation in our programs and elsewhere in orthopaedics. We hope to encourage and enhance individual growth of our members and to say thanks for their many contributions to education, research, and advocacy in orthopaedics.

AAOS Achievement Award Program Criteria