We will be performing site maintenance on AAOS.org on February 29th, from 5:30 PM – 6:30 PM CST which may cause sitewide downtime. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognizes AAOS Active Fellows, Emeritus Fellows, and International members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding musculoskeletal-related humanitarian activities in the United States or abroad.

This award is presented each year at the AAOS Annual Meeting. Recipients receive a $5,000 honorarium.

Candidates for the award will be evaluated for activities that include:

  • Give of himself or herself regardless of compensation
  • Provide services without expectation of remuneration
  • Provide services to all equally, impartially, cooperatively and neutrally
  • Embrace common moral decencies such as altruism, integrity, freedom, justice, honesty, truthfulness, responsibility and compassion
  • Respect and embrace human diversity
  • Improve the lives of those in need through selfless, courageous, creative, and compassionate acts
  • Efforts to bring healthcare access to the underserved (also include humanitarian efforts organization if applicable)
  • Measurable and/or tangible impact of humanitarian activities by candidate
  • Number of patients/people impacted by candidate’s humanitarian activities

Who is Eligible?

  • Must be an AAOS Fellow, Emeritus Member or International member who has distinguished himself or herself through outstanding musculoskeletal-related humanitarian activities in the United States or abroad
  • Cannot have served on the Communications Cabinet within the three years prior to the award year
  • Must have demonstrated an exemplary and outstanding commitment to musculoskeletal-focused humanitarian activities, either domestically or abroad
  • Only one nominee may be nominated (not a joint nomination)

Who May Nominate/Sponsor?

  • Cannot be a member of the Board of Directors or the AAOS Awards Committee
  • Must be an AAOS member; Resident members are eligible to nominate candidates, as well

2024 Humanitarian Award Nomination Form (closed)

AAOS Awards Policy

Mark S. Myerson, MD, Receives 2023 Humanitarian Award

The AAOS presented its 2023 Humanitarian Award to Mark S. Myerson MD, FAAOS, of Denver, Colo.

The Humanitarian Award honors members of the AAOS who have distinguished themselves through outstanding musculoskeletal-related humanitarian activities in the U.S. or abroad. Dr. Myerson was recognized for his work providing foot and ankle care to underserved communities around the world.

“I have always believed that humanitarian service is not an option, but our obligation,” Dr. Myerson said. “Receiving the AAOS Humanitarian Award far surpasses my professional and academic achievements, and I am incredibly proud and honored to represent our orthopaedic community in these continuing endeavors.”

In 2000, Dr. Myerson founded Steps2Walk, an international volunteer organization which provides both surgical care and education about foot and ankle deformities to underserved regions worldwide. The organization began as a fundraising effort to bring international surgeons to the U.S. for continued education before expanding to host educational and surgical programs worldwide.

Learn more about Dr. Myerson and the 2023 Humanitarian Award.

Previous AAOS Humanitarian Award Winners

Keith S. Feder, MD, FAAOS 
2022 Humanitarian Award Winner

David M. Atkin, MD, FAAOS
2021 Humanitarian Award Winner

Steven J. Meyer, MD
2020 Humanitarian Award Winner

Sameer Attar, MD, FAAOS
2019 Humanitarian Award Winner

Rick D. Wilkerson, MD, FAAOS
2018 Humanitarian Award Winner

David A. Spiegel, MD, FAAOS
2017 Humanitarian Award Winner