Congressional Bipartisanship Award

In 2021, AAOS created the Congressional Bipartisanship Award to honor Members of Congress who consistently work in a bipartisan manner to positively advance policy related to musculoskeletal care. 

2021 Award Winners

U.S. Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
U.S. Senator Joseph Manchin III (D-WV)
U.S. Representative Ami Bera, MD (D-CA)
U.S. Representative Fred Upton (R-MI)

Pictured left to right: AAOS Orthopaedic PAC Chair John T. Gill, MD, FAAOS; U.S. Senator Susan Collins (R-ME); and AAOS Advocacy Council Chair Douglas Lundy, MD, MBA, FAAOS.

Nomination Criteria

All AAOS Fellows were eligible to nominate individuals for the award until the September 17 deadline. Criteria for annual award consideration include that nominees embody the five principles of bipartisanship:

  • Demonstrates strong ability to compromise and collaborate with those in the opposing political party.
  • Has worked across the aisle on issues related to musculoskeletal physicians, patients and care.
  • Embodies the qualities and characteristics of bipartisan cooperation and comradery.
  • Puts the duty of their office above partisan politics.
  • Is a leader in working productively with all viewpoints, parties, and policy positions to advance healthcare policy.