Jason Shrouder-Henry, MD

Jason Shrouder-Henry, MD
Orthopaedic Hand and Upper Extremity Surgeon 
Jason Shrouder-Henry
Hinsdale, IL
Member Since: 2021


How has the AAOS helped you throughout your career?
AAOS has been critical to the development of my passion for Hand and Upper extremity surgery. It has allowed me to meet lifelong mentors, connect with like-minded colleagues, and create friendships through attending the AAOS Annual Meeting. Additionally, AAOS has also provided invaluable educational resources including JAAOS review articles, AAOS review courses, and test preparation questions. Lastly, AAOS, through the career workshop platform, was crucial in my job search as a fellow. Of note, I successfully interviewed for my current staff position at the AAOS Annual Meeting during my fellowship year.

As a Candidate Member, which AAOS resources do you use most and why?
As a Candidate member, I often utilize the Orthopaedic Video Theater which provides high-quality, peer-reviewed content and descriptions for a variety of complex hand and upper extremity surgeries that I perform. 

What’s the best advice you were ever given? Who was it from?
My fellowship mentor, Dr.David P. Green, provided me with a simple yet profound piece of advice during my training. He said: “Always listen to your patients carefully.” Following this advice has allowed me to empathetically engage my patients and truly understand their concerns while providing viable, patient-focused solutions. 

What’s your go-to productivity trick? 
As I have progressed in my career, I have found it very helpful to engage in written annual goal setting with monthly deliverables and action items related to those goals. This exercise provides me with realistic targets and tasks that I can complete in a manageable time frame. I have also found it extremely important to have a supportive, reliable, and consistent team of assistants and allied health as I develop my practice.

What’s one thing you’re currently trying to make a habit? 
Over the past 6 months, I have rededicated myself to maintaining a healthy and active lifestyle. Specifically, I try to play tennis once per week and circuit train 3x per week. 

What hobbies do you enjoy in your spare time? 
In addition to maintaining a fitness routine,  I enjoy spending time with my lovely wife and four beautiful young daughters.

Tell us a fun fact about yourself that not many people know?
I am from Toronto, Canada, and grew up playing ice hockey.